Skip to content

Kahlil Gibran

April 20, 2010

This is going to be a short post.  I’m in New York on a bit of vacation before the start of the annual Tarot Readers’ Studio begins on Friday.  I’m staying with my niece and I borrowed a book from her partner to read while they’re at work during the day.  It is “The Prophet” by the oft-quoted Kahlil Gibran. It’s a beautifully poetic book with wisdom that often evokes thoughts of various Tarot cards — at least, it evokes them in my Tarot-oriented mind.  For example, consider these quotes:

“You give but little when you give of your possessions.  It is when you give of yourself that you truly give.”

“For what are your possessions but things you keep and guard for fear you may need them tomorrow?”

“And what is fear of need but need itself?”

“… what shall tomorrow bring to the overprudent dog burying bones in the trackless sand…”

The first calls to mind the Six of Pentacles, and then expands upon the meaning of that card.  So too do the next couple of quotes relate to the Five and Four of Pentacles.

Whenever I read something of profound wisdom, I try to relate it to a Tarot card and I’m usually successful in that effort.  (See, for example, my previous post, Tarot and Desiderata.) In doing so, I find more depth in what I’m reading and I find more depth in that card as well.

And by the way, I definitely recommend this short, but exquisitely beautiful book.

Bright Blessings,
James Ricklef

Addendum:

It is now a couple of hours later, and I just read the following passage in this book, which calls to mind the four Tarot suits.  (I have inserted the suit names in brackets, although that may be unnecessary.)

And I say that life is indeed darkness save when there is urge, [Wands]
And all urge is blind save when there is knowledge, [Swords]
And all knowledge is vain save when there is work, [Pentacles]
And all work is empty save when there is love; [Cups]

And then came the next quote, which I relate to the Magician:

And what is it to work with love? … It is to charge all things you fashion with a breath of your own spirit.

That’s all for now.

7 Comments
  1. Well, I know the works of Gibran very well-I used to be a fan of his poetry in my teens- and the idea of the man who is considered a fool but is in fact a wise man is all theough his work. That is very much the Fool’s JOurney-that is , the Tarot.

  2. Thanks James

    I have the book and have highlighted the last part relating to the four suits, it is very profound and the correspondence is uncanny (in the chapter On Work if anyone else is looking for it).

    Blessings
    Helen

  3. This is one of my all time favourite books of poetry/prose K xx

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tarot and Quotes — Part 1 « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog
  2. Decisions Decisions « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog
  3. Success versus Peace « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,964 other followers

