Skip to content

Ask KnightHawk — Struggling Business Owner

September 1, 2010

Dear KnightHawk,
I am a small business owner who has had a tough couple of start-up years. There have been some very measurable successes, but a lot of setbacks too. I know I should be doing more with the creative, strategic marketing part of the business, but I am overwhelmed by the scope of it. And now I have had to take on other part-time work, so my efforts will be further diluted.
So my question is this:
“Is there an area I can focus on or a direction I can take that will have great impact for me and the exposure of my line of sales?”
Sincerely,
Struggling Business Owner

.

Dear Struggling Business Owner,

Thank you for asking for a reading to help your business. Here are the cards I dealt for you:

Tower card -- Tarot of the Masters . Tarot of the Masters -- Queen of Cups . Five of Wands -- Tarot of the Masters

Card 1 (Major Arcana Card for Spiritual advice) – The Tower
Card 2 (Court Card for traits to develop or emphasize) – Queen of Cups
Card 3 (PIP card for suggested action) – Five of Wands

The basic advice that I see here is to engage more in professional networking. The messages of the individual cards will elaborate upon that.

The Tower:

This card is about breaking down the walls that separate you from other people, and it advises you to move outside of your comfort zone. Expand into areas and/or experiment with methods that are new and different even if you are uncomfortable doing them. Revisit ideas that you may have discounted in the past because you thought, “Oh, I hate doing that sort of thing.” For example, you might hate public speaking, but speaking in front of a professional group could help expand your market and improve your business, so you might give that a try.

High Priest (Hierophant) -- Tarot of the MastersI have included this advice for this card which is in the position of Spiritual advice because confronting and conquering your fears in this way can be an important part of your spiritual journey. Also, I would like to note that the contra-positive card for the Tower is the Hierophant. The insight that this brings is that the way to conquer your fears of moving outside of your comfort zone includes learning about those areas that you are afraid of, gaining faith in the support of the Divine (however you conceptualize that), and realizing your connection with everyone else. Using the example of public speaking, taking a class in this area can help, and then when you get up in front of a group of people to speak, faith in the Divine and in your connection with your audience will help greatly.

Queen of Cups:

The Queen of Cups is about finding and embracing the loving, caring, and compassionate part of you. And so it suggests that you cultivate your compassion for other people, and strengthen your relationships with other people. This suggestion supports the advice above about realizing your connection with everyone else, and it leads into the advice of the next card.

Five of Wands:

The first thing that came to mind when I saw the Five of Wands was “Networking.” Yes, there can be a lot of chaotic energy in things like professional mixers and there can be messy politics in professional organizations, but when you channel their energy positively and use their resources effectively, you can gain a lot of benefit.

.

To help you in this situation, I would like to leave you with the following affirmations, which are adapted from my book, Tarot Affirmations. (You can read more about using affirmations with Tarot cards in a recent blog post.)  Feel free, of course, to pick and choose among them and to adjust them to suit yourself.

First, here are a couple based on the Tower card:
I am eager to try new things.
I am excited about breaking down the walls around my heart and opening up to other people.

The next one works well with the Queen of Cups:
I intuitively understand and empathize with other people.

The last one will help you flip the negative aspect of the Five of Wands into a positive one:
I am able to transform conflict into cooperation.

Bright Blessings,
KnightHawk

.

NOTES:

“Ask KnightHawk” Readings:  If you would like to get an “Ask KnightHawk” reading from me, click on the Ask KnightHawk tab at the top of the page for more information. And if you would like to read a collection of KnightHawk readings for mythical, fictional, and historical figures, you will love my books Tarot Tells the Tale and Tarot: Get the Whole Story.

Tarot Deck:  The deck used for this reading was my own Tarot of the Masters which you can only purchase from me.  See my website for more information.

Private Readings:  Note that I offer private readings that are more in-depth.  They can be on the telephone, via Skype, using email, or in person (if you are in the Los Angeles area.)  For more information about that, see my reading services page.

Archives:  To see past “Ask KnightHawk” readings, see the KnightHawk Readings Index page.

.

Disclaimer: A Tarot reading is not a substitute for medical, psychological, financial, or legal counseling.  For such advice, please consult a qualified professional. The information provided in a Tarot reading is not legally binding and the Tarot reader assumes no legal liability for any damages, losses, or other consequences of any client decisions or actions, subsequent to, or based on, this service.

4 Comments
  1. gloria stone permalink

    Hi James
    I love that interpretation for the Tower. Its feels like you are more in control of the situation.

    • Thanks Gloria.
      Yeah, I like “Get out of your comfort zone!” as an interpretation for the Tower. It also reminds me of when I was a kid and my mother would almost kick me out of the house on nice summer days because I preferred to sit inside reading a book. “Go play outside. Get some fresh air!” she’d say.
      Now that I’m all grown up I sit inside all day at my computer instead. Ah, “le plus c’est change, le plus c’est la même chose” I guess. :D

  2. That was very cool and very helpful. Thank you!
    I guess you can never network enough, and I do have a fear of public speaking.
    I think I could be more empathetic & accepting of things too!
    Thanks again – Struggling Business Owner!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,375 other followers

