Skip to content

78 Days of Gratitude — One per Tarot Card

September 2, 2010

Ace of Coins -- Tarot of the MastersMost of us think that saying “Thank you” is for the benefit of whoever it is that has given us something, be that another person or the Divine (however you conceptualize that). However, a few years ago I came across a study about gratitude, which found that having a sense of gratitude (especially as opposed to a sense of complaint and dissatisfaction) provides a variety of benefits for the person giving thanks.

Six of Coins -- Tarot of the MastersIt helps them feel more hope, and it diminishes negative feelings such as envy, resentment and regret, thus increasing their sense of joy and satisfaction in life.  In addition, gratitude also makes people more likely to be helpful, supportive, and charitable to others.  So a powerful way to find joy and satisfaction in life is to appreciate the brightness that already exists in our lives.

I mention this because I recently noticed that one of my Facebook friends (Victoria) has been posting a daily Statement of Gratitude on her FB page in a personal project called “100 Days of Gratitude.” With my typical “Tarot Mind” I decided to launch my own personal project of “78 Days of Gratitude” where each day’s statement of thanks was based on a Tarot card.  I’m currently in the midst of this project having just finished the Major Arcana a few days ago. (If you want to follow my progress, you can join my Facebook page where I’m posting these.)

What follows are my 22 Gratitude Statements for the Majors. I am posting them here as encouragement for you to do something similar, and to give you examples to demonstrate how I am doing it. Note that these statements can be very specific or quite general. The only criterion is that they express gratitude and appreciation for something in your life.

.

The Fool -- Tarot of the MastersThe Fool: I am grateful that the Universe lifted me up and carried me along when I took a leap of faith over a decade ago, a leap that took me out of the “Nine to Five” corporate world and into a professional life with the Tarot.

The Magician: I’m grateful for the magic that happens in my life when I open up to allow it to flow through me. The best example I can think of is my Tarot of the Masters deck because it really felt like I didn’t create the cards as much as they flowed through me into reality.

The High Priestess: I’m thankful for all the little mysteries of life that I struggle to understand, catching a glimmer of meaning every now and then. Both the process and the results are wonderful.

The Empress: I am thankful for having a weekly Farmer’s Market that is only a few blocks away.  It’s great to have wonderful, fresh, organic, and local produce easily available.

The Emperor: I am grateful for having a safe and secure home environment. Also, this card is associated with “structure and stability” and our condo complex underwent a major reconstruction to address earthquake safety issues about a year ago. I’m grateful for that … and I’m very grateful that the mess and upheaval of that process is over!

High Priest (Hierophant) -- Tarot of the MastersThe Hierophant: This card can be about faith, so I came up with this gratitude statement: I am thankful for my faith in the Universe, my faith that things will work out in the end. Sometimes that’s been all that got me through some hard times.

The Lovers: I am thankful for my relationship with my wonderful husband.

The Chariot: Wil’s car wasn’t starting so we took it in to the shop on the day that I did this one. Luckily, it just needed a new battery.  I’m thankful that that’s all it needed and not something expensive.

Strength: I am thankful that I have the inner strength necessary to deal with the aches and pains of getting older.  Sometimes it seems like if it’s not one thing it’s another, and it can take a lot of patience and forbearance to deal with the problems and losses that come with being of a certain age.

The Hermit: I am grateful for those quiet moments that I find now and then when I can spend some time alone connecting with my spiritual self.

Wheel of Fortune: I am thankful for the changing of the seasons. It would be so boring if it were the same season all the time, wouldn’t it!

Justice -- Tarot of the MastersJustice: I am thankful for my (typically Libran) ability to see both sides of an argument. I’m not saying I always can do that, but I often can.

Hanged Man: I heard a great saying today: “A bad day for the ego is a good day for the soul.”  So today I’m grateful for all the “bad ego days” with faith that they are all “good soul days.”

Death: I had to think a bit about this one, since obviously “Death” is not something that often calls to mind “gratitude.” Then I thought about the word and card in a context broader than the actual event of an ending, and I came up with a great “Gratitude Statement” for the day.  This is it:  I am grateful for all the people (and pets) who have graced my life but who are no longer with me. I give thanks that I was lucky enough to know them and experience life with them for the time that we had together. And I’m thankful for the memories of them that will continue to live with me on into the future.

Temperance: I am grateful for all the tea blends I have discovered. Several months ago I did Tarot readings at a tea shop for a while, and when I was there, I discovered that you can blend all sorts of things to make an interesting tea (or infusion), and I’ve been exploring the use of many different ingredients to make interesting teas since.

Devil: I am grateful for some of the hell I’ve been through in my life because it has made me a stronger person.

Tower: Eleven years ago the company I was working for was bought out and most of us were laid off. Most of my coworkers were unhappy about that Tower event, but I was thrilled as it gave me the push I needed to get out of the corporate world of Cubicles and start doing Tarot work full on.  I’m still grateful for that Tower event.

The Star -- Tarot of the MastersStar: I am grateful for the night sky.  Here in the city I can’t see nearly as many stars as I can when I’m away from the wash of city lights, but still, I love looking up into the sky now and then to see the stars twinkling down at me. It always awakens a sense of wonder and awe in my heart.

Moon: Being a bit of a night owl, this card reminds me that I love the night, so:  I am grateful for the night when it is quiet and peaceful … and in the summer: COOL.

Sun: I appreciate and am grateful for the light that shines inside every one of us, which is the beacon of our soul.  It’s important to remember that this light is there within everyone and to look for it.

Judgment: I am so very thankful for coffee! (One of my key phrases for the Judgment card is “Wake up and smell the coffee.”)

World Card -- Tarot of the MastersWorld: I am grateful for the world around me. I don’t mean this as merely “Hey, thanks for everything.” Rather, I am thankful that I am here in my life right now with the certainty that everything is as it should be for me to follow the path of my spiritual journey.

.

.

“If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, ‘Thank you,’ that would suffice.” — Meister Eckhart

11 Comments
  1. What a great idea, James. I really try to practice gratitude, and what a perfect way to integrate the daily card into that. Please feel free to mention this idea on CompTarot.

  2. I share your gratitude thought for the Fool, though maybe it should be at the Wheel of Fortune, since in my case it was the recession and being made redundant what made me go professional in Tarot- and finding happiness along the way.

  3. This is a great idea, and something that bears repeating (and reminding).

  4. Teresa, Rozonda, and Digital Dame –
    Thanks! Glad you all like this post.
    Teresa — Sure! I’ll note this on Comparative Tarot.
    Best,
    James

  5. Erin permalink

    James, I enjoyed following your gratitude postings….it made me do one has I saw yours. You probably noticed.

    Great idea…and thanks for doing this …..has made me follow and give gratitude in the written way too.

  6. James, I’m sorry I came so late to this party. I love this idea! It’s a nice twist on the Card of the Day too — instead of (or in addition to) an affirmation, let the card suggest something to be grateful for. Thank you.

    • Better late than never, Joanna! ;-)
      Glad you like it.
      PS: I’m very thankful that I know you. :D
      Best,
      James

  7. :-) I’m thankful I know you too, James!

  8. Great post and idea. I try to be grateful for each day and the experiences, although sometimes that is a hard practice. I’ve reached a time in my life where reflection is a great tool. I will definitely go about copying you here. It’s a great idea and something worth exploring.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ask KnightHawk Passionless Person « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog
  2. Thanksgiving, Gratitude, and the Tarot « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,750 other followers

