Skip to content

Ask KnightHawk — Passionless Person

September 12, 2010

Dear KnightHawk,
What do I need to know about myself to restore passion in my life? It’s been awhile since I felt enthusiastic about anything. I ought to be focusing on looking for a job after several failed investments but just can’t bring myself to focus.
Thank you very much.
Sincerely,
Passionless Person

.

Dear Passionless Person,
Thank you for asking for a reading about this problem. Here are the cards I dealt for your reading:

Death -- Tarot of the Masters . King of Swords -- Tarot of the Masters . Nine of Coins -- Tarot of the Masters

Card 1 (Major Arcana Card for Spiritual advice) – Death
Card 2 (Court Card for traits to develop or emphasize) – King of Swords
Card 3 (PIP card for suggested action) – Nine of Coins

I feel that the most important message here is that of letting go of problems of the past and appreciating the good things you have here and now. What follows are more detailed explanations of the cards and their messages for you.

Death:

This first card says that you need to let go (mentally and emotionally) of something that’s gone.  Suffering doesn’t come from what we lose, it comes from refusing to let go. So consider something you have lost that you mentally return to over and over again. I know letting go is easier said than done, so I have a suggestion. Find or create something that symbolizes the loss that you need to release. This can be anything — a picture of it, a book about it, or a broken piece of it. Then take that symbolic item, put it in a box (perhaps an old shoe box), and bury it somewhere. You can even have a little funeral ceremony for it if you like.

King of Swords:

The King of Swords is an expert in his field, and he has a keen ability to focus his attention. So this card suggests that you start by remembering that you do have areas of expertise that you can exploit in your job search, and focus your attention on them. Also, refine your ability to ignore distractions as you work on job hunting.

Nine of Coins:

First of all, this card suggests that you need to spend time appreciating the things you already have in your life. In a recent blog post called “78 Days of Gratitude — One per Tarot Card” I noted the following:

Having a sense of gratitude … helps [people] feel more hope, and it diminishes negative feelings such as envy, resentment and regret, thus increasing their sense of joy and satisfaction in life.

So gratitude not only comes from our enjoyment of life, it also helps create it. One way to cultivate this sense of gratitude is to create a daily Statement of Gratitude, as I explained in that post mentioned above.

Another suggestion that the Nine of Coins provides is to do things that you enjoy, such as work in the garden or return to a hobby you enjoy. I realize that the King of Swords advises you to focus your attention and ignore distractions, but it’s also important to take a break now and then and spend time doing something fun. So make a list of things you enjoy doing, and then whenever you need a break, pick one thing from that list and do it.

.

To give you a bit more help in this situation, I would like to leave you with the following affirmations, which are adapted from my book, Tarot Affirmations. (You can read more about using affirmations with Tarot cards in a prior blog post.)  Feel free, of course, to pick and choose among them and to adjust them to suit yourself.

Here are a couple of affirmations based on the Death card:
I let go of things that no longer benefit me to allow better things to come into my life.
I observe and enjoy the things of this world but I do so without attachment to them.

The next two were inspired by the King of Swords:
My knowledge, intelligence, integrity, and expertise are well-respected.
I control my destiny, and I take responsibility for it.

Finally, here are two more that the Nine of Coins suggests:
I enjoy the life I have created for myself.
I deserve my success and prosperity.

I hope all of this helps!

Bright Blessings,
KnightHawk

.

NOTES:

“Ask KnightHawk” Readings:  If you would like to get an “Ask KnightHawk” reading from me, click on the Ask KnightHawk tab at the top of the page for more information. And if you would like to read a collection of KnightHawk readings for mythical, fictional, and historical figures, you will love my books Tarot Reading Explained and Tarot: Get the Whole Story.

Tarot Deck:  The deck used for this reading was my own Tarot of the Masters which you can only purchase from me. 

Private Readings:  Note that I offer private readings that are more in-depth.  They can be on the telephone, via Skype, using email, or in person (if you are in the Los Angeles area.)  For more information about that, see my reading services page.

Archives:  To see past “Ask KnightHawk” readings, see the KnightHawk Readings Index page.

.

Disclaimer: A Tarot reading is not a substitute for medical, psychological, financial, or legal counseling.  For such advice, please consult a qualified professional. The information provided in a Tarot reading is not legally binding and the Tarot reader assumes no legal liability for any damages, losses, or other consequences of any client decisions or actions, subsequent to, or based on, this service.

6 Comments
  1. Wonderful reading.

    Passionless Person, I hope you regain your passion of life.

  2. What great cards! And great insight, James. Letting go of the past is the first step. That King of Swords tells me PP has still got it going on, the sharp intellect to form a plan to move forward. Nine of Pentacles tells me there are untapped resources somewhere (old friends, family, network, network, network…) There’s nothing more demoralizing than a long job search, been there.

    Wishing you brighter days, PP!

  3. What an excellent and wise reading! It speaks to my heart as well.

  4. Cher, DD, and Jesa — Thanks for the nice comments on this reading!

  5. Powerful first two cards… the King of Swords finishing the job of the Death, amazing! they should work together more often!

    Loved the 9 of Pentacles at the end, to me looks like a very well deserved reward after going through the process described by previous cards.

    As always, thank you for sharing!

  6. Davina permalink

    Well said Flavio – don’t they work well together :) So much potential here in this reading. I also see the 9 as investing in the self – bringing the self to fruition. Another great reading.

    Davina

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,959 other followers

