Skip to content

Life Imitating Tarot

October 8, 2010

In my previous post, I considered how several comic strips have an unintentional resemblance to a Tarot card. I would like to add an image that I found a while back that shows a wonderful example of how life can imitate the Tarot sometimes.

Life version of Two of Wands

This adorable photo of two dogs looking out at the world reminds me of, and provides an interesting spin on the Two of Wands. I’ve always thought that the RWS version of this card needed some more explicit indications of duality and balance since it is a TWO card, and here it is.

I can see cooperation and partnership in this image, which I don’t get from the image on the RWS version, and I think that works well with the numerological association of the number Two and the elemental association of the suit of Wands.

I’d love to hear what other people think this image might add to our traditional interpretations of the Two of Wands.

8 Comments
  1. Jennifer Johnson permalink

    Beautiful and sweet.. a lovely two of wands.. Black/White.. choices.. joining together.. opportunities for friendship and partnership.. combining of gifts and talents..

  2. i first saw the 2 of Cups. This is so sweet and so fun to do. I always seem to see tarot in pictures.

    Fun, James!

  3. I laughed out loud when I saw this… I thought about the two pillars in the High Priestess card.

    I have a hard time seeing this picture as the Two of Wands. The way the wands are positioned in the RWS remind me of a doorway, I tend to look at them as a gateway between the past and the present. And the man in relation to the wands is holding on to the present and at the same time creating the future. I see a lot of creation and intention in the Two of Wands.

    When I look at the photo, the dogs are joined in such a sweet way… I sort of vibe with Donnaleigh’s 2 of Cups reference.

    • Similarities I see include the aspect of looking out toward the future from a high vantage point. Also, looking out at the outside world while safe within the protection of the “inside” world, maybe trying to decide: Should I stay safe and secure here or venture out there and look for new excitement and discoveries?

  4. LOL I thought of the Two of Cups! cute dogs

  5. I thought of a song last night.. about this picture “Black and White” by Three Dog Night.. the child is black, the child is white. together they grow to see the light! a beautiful sight!

  6. I think this image related very well to the 2 of Wands too — two people looking at the same direction, having the same goal. Balancing their differences to reach the same ends together.

    Two differents paths that meet. :)

    I loved this, thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,069 other followers

