Skip to content

Tarot Tells the Tale … new edition

August 13, 2011

I am sad to announce that Llewellyn has let my book Tarot Tells the Tale go out of print. But rather than see this as a problem, I’m seeing it as an opportunity, so I’m working to re-issue it in a revised edition through createspace.com, which is where I am publishing my books Tarot Affirmations and The Original Tarot Coloring Book. I’m re-editing the text and creating a new cover. I’m not sure yet how long that may take (a month maybe?), but I’ll give you all a heads up when the time draws near. In the meantime, though, what this means is that I won’t have much time to do posts about the Tarot’s Daily Spiritual Message.

Besides making this announcement, I am writing today to get suggests from you all about the new edition. Is there any material you would like to see added to the book? I can’t promise anything, but suggestions are welcome.

Also, do you have suggestions about the title? I don’t think the old title, Tarot Tells the Tale, worked well to attract people to the book (which is the main purpose of a title). The problem has been that wide the audience of novices isn’t attracted to it. They see that title and think, I don’t know what the heck that’s about, so I’ll move on to a book called ‘How to Read Tarot Cards Quick and Easy’ (or whatever). And honestly, Tarot Tells the Tale is a book that’s great for beginners, even though I’ve found that more advanced readers love it too. The intention of re-titling this book is to make it more appealing to a wide audience, so what title do you think will help sell this book?

UPDATE:  This book (titled Tarot Reading Explained) is now available both in paperback and Kindle form.  For more information, see my page for this book:  http://jamesricklef.wordpress.com/products/tarot-reading-explained/  Also, find out why I’m asking people to no longer recommend “Tarot Tells the Tale.”

From → James Ricklef

13 Comments
  1. One of the best Tarot books out there. Truly if you want to learn how to read a spred this book will help you learn. Glad you are not putting it to rest James! It is a diamond in the ruff!

  2. You have had some input from me on titles on FB so the point I want to make here which might be another book but could also be a fresh way of reorganizing this book with refreshed content. There are many writer reference books on the limited nature of core plots in storytelling. Such as The Seven Basic Plots: Why We Tell Stories by Christopher Booker or 20 Master Plots: And How to Build Them by Ronald Tobias or Plot & Structure: (Techniques And Exercises For Crafting A Plot That Grips Readers From Start To Finish) (Write Great Fiction) by James Scott Bell or The Thirty-Six Dramatic Situations by Georges Polti get to what I am suggesting. Reviewing this literature or books like it categorize the letters you have written to plot type you adopt. Also you can re-gloss tarot cards and combinations as reflective of plots.
    Anyway it’s a suggestion I would follow up myself if I were not pulled in other directions.

  3. Well, it is problematic to provide a good suggestion as I’ve not read the book. But I would certainly think about the primary theme presented and be sure that is conveyed in the title. And as I suspect you know subtitles are freely used these days, so I’d generate the “thesis statement” aspect in the subtitle to further refine the subject the book discusses.

    My initial impression of a title like ‘How to Read Tarot Cards Quick and Easy’ is there are many of those already. So your title should highlight the “added benefit” you are providing. What makes it stand out from the standard “How To … Tarot” titles already available? And a harder question, what is your own favorite part of the book (you may be too close to see this objectively)? What has been the “best part” others have related to you from their having read it? Is there a consistent theme in this feedback?

    Unless, you are thinking of this as one title of several you wish to provide, and are not so much targeting a new audience as an established audience. In such cases your name is the most important part of the “title.” But I don’t get that impression from your post.

    And of course do an Internet search of your proposed title just to get an idea of what prospective buyers may find when they do so. Taking that with a grain of salt given the dynamic nature of the Internet.

    Your posts here seem to be very introspective and consistently seeking to point toward awakening and refining one’s spiritual nature. If that is also a message given throughout this book that may be potential source material for a title to “think on” as we say in the Ozarks.

    I don’t know how helpful my thoughts are …but you asked! heheh ;) These are the kinds of questions that come to my mind anyway.

  4. Oh! I missed the obvious! Pull a card, asking for a suggestion from the deck itself!
    ;)

    (I’m only half-kidding)

  5. Thanks for these suggestions, everyone. Food for thought!
    Paul, my main goal at this time is to do my Spiritual Tarot book, so I’m not anxious to majorly rework my TTTT book. I’m afraid I don’t have that much time or energy to spare. Tweaking and reediting is more what I’m trying to do. … and re-title it and do a new cover (since Llewellyn owns the cover).
    Erik, Pulling a card for a suggestion is actually an interesting idea.
    Best,
    James

  6. Rochelle permalink

    I’m glad you are re-issuing the book. It presents a very assessible way of learning tarot. Your writing is always a joy to read. The back cover has the words “Your Tarot Tutor.” So how about “Your Tarot Tutor: A practical approach to reading tarot using familiar stories.” Or, “Using Three-card tarot readings: A practical approach to learning tarot using familiar stories.” I think something simple and clear would be best.

    Rochelle

    • Thanks Rochelle!
      Yes, I plan to keep it simple.
      Actually, “Your Tarot Tutor” was Llewellyn’s original title idea, and it’s not bad … but say it out loud and it sounds like you have a speech impediment. ;-)
      Best,
      James

  7. Sue permalink

    I loved your book–and I was a “beginner” at the time. I’m not sure that I’m not still, quite frankly. But I’ve moved from doing only oracle cards into using tarot as well–I like the symbols. I’ve never been able to memorize the meanings they’re “supposed” to have so the idea of looking into the cards and seeing a story resonated with me. And after seeing various books on intuitive reading and on using them as a tool to access the psyche, it’s been much more productive for me to do my readings.

    • Thanks, Sue. Tell all your friends to keep their eyes open for the new edition. I’m hoping to have it ready within a couple of months.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Death card and physical death poll « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog
  2. Seven Swords « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog
  3. Ace Pentacles « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog
  4. Tarot Reading Explained « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,832 other followers

