Skip to content

Ask KnightHawk — Unemployed and Scared

July 2, 2010

Dear KnightHawk,
I lost my employment recently. I have applied for unemployment insurance and food stamps, but so far, neither of them has been approved. I have been looking for housing and employment in other locations, but I am now a paycheck away from homelessness. I know that this too shall pass, but can the cards tell me anything to help?
Sincerely,
Scared

Dear Scared,

I’m so sorry to hear that things are so bad for you at this time.  I hope that at least in some small way, this brief reading can help you.  Here are the cards I dealt for your reading:

. The Star -- Tarot of the Masters . Queen of Wands -- Tarot of the Masters . Two of Wands -- Tarot of the Masters

Card 1 (Major Arcana Card for Spiritual advice) – The Star
Card 2 (Court Card for traits to develop or emphasize) – Queen of Wands
Card 3 (PIP card for a suggested action) – Two of Wands

First, as an overview of this spread, I want to note that you have the Star card and two Wands (i.e., Fire) cards.  This gives a clear message that you should not give up hope and you should not give in to despair and desperation.  Keep up your courage because both optimism and despair, each in its own way, can become a self-fulfilling prophesy.  Wouldn’t you prefer that optimism’s prophesy is the one to prevail?

So now, for the specific cards —

The Star:

The important aspects that I see for the Star card in this reading are its meanings of hope and of divine inspiration and guidance. Also, the woman depicted on this card traditionally symbolizes the Anima Mundi (the Soul of the World), which can represent your realization of your connection to the Divine.  So let’s consider what how all of that can help you.

Hope:

“In the face of uncertainty, there’s nothing wrong with hope.” – Dr. Bernie Siegel

When I was a child I used to recite a little poem whenever I saw the first star in the evening sky.  (Perhaps you did too.)

Star light, star bright!
First star I see tonight!
I wish I may, I wish I might
Have this wish I wish tonight.

Then I would silently make a wish. This simple ritual was an expression of my faith that there is always hope for a better and brighter future. Sometimes just having that innocent hope was enough to sustain me, while at other times, my wishes sparked my imagination. And remember — your imagination gives wings to your wishes, which helps them come true.

Divine Inspiration and Connection:

The Star card signifies the divine inspiration and guidance that is commonly symbolized in religions and folklore by a guiding star. Some of us find such guidance by wishing for it with sincere hope and faith (which many people call “prayer”), while others find it though other means, like meditation. (Which of these might work for you?) In any case, it’s important to know that it is when things are darkest for us — like they are for you now — that we discover the value of this sort of connection. Or, as Martin Luther King, Jr. once said, “Only when it is dark enough, can you see the stars.”

Also, it is at such dark times that we really need to be able to find the sort of peace and tranquility indicated by this card, which represents the quiet awe we feel when we stand in the silent darkness of night staring up at a star-filled sky. (If you live within the light pollution of a big city, take a trip into the countryside some moonless night to see what I mean.) Through meditation, you can achieve a similar experience of divine communion, inner peace, and renewal of the soul. This is difficult but important for someone in your circumstances, so here’s a suggestion: Step outside tonight and just look up at the stars. Don’t think about your problems.  Don’t think about anything but the stars as you just gaze up at them. Soon you will feel the state of being for which you are striving.  Remember that feeling, keep it in your heart so that you will be able to find it more easily when you need it in the hard times ahead.

Queen of Wands:

The name of the painting that inspired my Tarot of the Masters version of this card is Fortitude.  The inner strength and serene confidence thus indicated are qualities you need to depend upon at this time.  The Queen of Wands represents a strong, independent, and capable person who is exuberant and energetic and who is passionate about everything she does. These are other qualities that you can use at this time. Finally, this Queen urges you to stay cheerful and gregarious, and to cultivate a deep appreciation for the people in your life because you can find help in the friendships you have cultivated.

Two of Wands:

At first glance, the Two of Wands in my deck may seem to be a depiction of a conflict, but it goes a lot deeper than that.  This is not a simple street brawl.  These are wrestlers engaged in a sporting contest, so there must be preparation and training involved in what they are doing.

So the Two of Wands is telling you that to manifest the goals and aspirations that you envision (through the divine guidance indicated by the Star card) you need more than just inspiration.  That was a good start, but you also need to go out and make it happen, which is what this card is about — making things happen.  It is about pairing action with intention and moving forward boldly.  To do that, you need to have the self-confidence (which the Queen of Wands advised) to set bold, new goals and to prepare yourself to begin new adventures.  In short, the advice of this card can be summed up as: Plan carefully, but then act boldly.

If I were to summarize this entire reading quite succinctly, I would put its advice as this:
Maintain hope, be inspired, develop your self-confidence, and take bold action.

To help you in this dark hour, I would like to leave you with a few affirmations, which are from my book, Tarot Affirmations. Choose as many as you may want to use, perhaps focusing on just one or two per day.

The first two are based on the Star card:
I have faith that the Universe will guide me during this time of trouble.
(You can use any term in place of “the Universe” that works better for you.)
.  I receive divine inspiration when I quiet my mind and listen for it.

The next two work well with the Queen of Wands:
.  I have deep reserves of inner strength.
.  I am able to do any task set before me.

The final one goes well with the Two of Wands:
.  I am moving boldly toward my goals.

Bright Blessings,
KnightHawk

NOTES:

“Ask KnightHawk” Readings:  If you would like to get an “Ask KnightHawk” reading from me, click on the Ask KnightHawk tab at the top of the page for more information. And if you would like to read a collection of KnightHawk readings for mythical, fictional, and historical figures, you will love my books Tarot Reading Explained and Tarot: Get the Whole Story.

Tarot Deck:  The deck used for this reading was my own Tarot of the Masters which you can only purchase from me. 

Private Readings:  Note that I offer private readings that are more in-depth.  They can be on the telephone, via Skype, using email, or in person (if you are in the Los Angeles area.)  For more information about that, see my reading services page.

Archives:  To see past “Ask KnightHawk” readings, see the KnightHawk Readings Index page.

Disclaimer: A Tarot reading is not a substitute for medical, psychological, financial, or legal counseling.  For such advice, please consult a qualified professional. The information provided in a Tarot reading is not legally binding and the Tarot reader assumes no legal liability for any damages, losses, or other consequences of any client decisions or actions, subsequent to, or based on, this service.

12 Comments
  1. Susan Mc permalink

    Wow. I feel like I should be paying for the privilege to read these!! Thank you!!

  2. Hi, James!
    It’s great to see you doing this type of column. I enjoyed it immensely when you did something of a similar nature in your book Tarot Tells the Tale. I will be looking forward to future columns.

  3. Susan Mc permalink

    Oh, I just realized I can donate via the link! So I did! Are there ways I can “share” this column (facebook, twitter, etc.)??

  4. Good advice. Part of having faith is taking an active role in helping yourself, which you talked about under the Two of Wands.

    I certainly hope Scared’s situation improves soon, my heart goes out to them (and everyone else in that predicament).

    • Hi Digital Dame,
      Yes, agreed. Here is a quote that echoes that sentiment:
      “Vision without action is a daydream. Action with without vision is a nightmare.” — Japanese proverb
      Another one I like is:
      “Trust in God, but steer away from the rocks.” I think that’s a Russian proverb, but I can’t recall right now.
      (I love quotes. Can you tell?)
      And yes, I’m pulling for Scared too.
      Best,
      James

  5. James,

    Great reading. Very inspiring.

    Scared – I hope your rough patch comes to an end soon and brighter skies open for you. Good luck.

  6. Alexsandria permalink

    I love your blogs and especially this one because I can relate so easily to the situation! I have even emailed you about my situation! Please please please, what deck are you using? I love the vicariousness of this deck! I also love how you do your 3 card readings, as it’s a different style than most!

    • Thank you, Alexsandria,

      Tarot Deck: The deck used for this readings is my own Tarot of the Masters which you can only purchase from me. See my website for more information: http://www.jamesricklef.com/ToM_INTRO.html

      The 3-card spread and method of reading for these questions is my own creation, specifically designed for the “Ask KnightHawk” questions here.

      Best,
      James

Leave a Reply

