Skip to content

Ask KnightHawk — UK VISA

July 9, 2010

Dear KnightHawk,
My children and I recently applied for settlement VISAs for the UK (my husband is a UK citizen), and I am concerned that they will not be approved because the qualifications are tight. I fear for what that would mean for my family, so I would like to know what the cards can tell me about this.
Sincerely,
Unsettled and Frustrated

Dear Unsettled and Frustrated,

Thank you for requesting a reading from me at this difficult time.
Here are the cards I dealt for your reading:

The Empress -- Tarot of the Masters . Queen of Swords -- Tarot of the Masters . Five of Swords -- Tarot of the Masters

Card 1 (Major Arcana Card for Spiritual advice) – The Empress
Card 2 (Court Card for a trait to develop or emphasize) – Queen of Swords
Card 3 (PIP card for a suggested action) – Five of Swords

My initial, general impression based on these cards taken together is that this is a very difficult situation that you will need a lot of strength, self-control, and careful planning to get through.

The Empress

The Empress is the archetypal Mother, as well as being a symbol of a loving wife. So this card is about being a supportive and nurturing force in your family. I realize that this is a trying time for you, but your family needs you to be positive. You need to be supportive and encouraging for them, but it will be hard for you to do this if you let yourself be overcome by your frustration.  So don’t let your anxiety about this situation infect your children, and don’t let the chaos of this situation seep into all of your lives.

The Queen of Swords

What first jumped out at me when I pulled this card were the qualities of self-reliance and self-control. Also, a positive aspect of the Queen of Swords is her ability to keep her cool in troubled times, so this card says that you can’t let yourself go crazy over this. No matter what happens with your application, you need to be strong and wise, because, as noted above, your family is depending on you.  Also, you may need to use a bit of this queen’s cunning to find ways to ensure the success of your application, as we will see in the next card.

The Five of Swords

The Five of Swords urges you to check in on the process in any way that you can. I see in this card a lot of bureaucratic red tape that could easily kill your chances if you don’t stay on top of the process in any way possible.

Another piece of advice that I see in this card is to “choose your battles wisely.”  I’m not sure what that means in this context, but I’ve learned to relay messages from the cards that pop into my head since they do often make sense to the person getting the reading.

To help you in this situation, I would like to leave you with the following affirmations, which are from my book, Tarot Affirmations. Feel free, of course, to adjust these to suit yourself.

The first one is based on the Empress card.
I create abundance in my life.

The next two are based on the Queen of Swords card.  Use whichever one seems best for you at this time.
I have a great deal of self-discipline.
I am able to do whatever I have to in order to achieve my goals.

Bright Blessings,
KnightHawk

NOTES:

“Ask KnightHawk” Readings:  If you would like to get an “Ask KnightHawk” reading from me, click on the Ask KnightHawk tab at the top of the page for more information. And if you would like to read a collection of KnightHawk readings for mythical, fictional, and historical figures, you will love my books Tarot Reading Explained and Tarot: Get the Whole Story.

Tarot Deck:  The deck used for this reading was my own Tarot of the Masters which you can only purchase from me. 

Private Readings:  Note that I offer private readings that are more in-depth.  They can be on the telephone, via Skype, using email, or in person (if you are in the Los Angeles area.)  For more information about that, see my reading services page.

Archives:  To see past “Ask KnightHawk” readings, see the KnightHawk Readings Index page.

Disclaimer: A Tarot reading is not a substitute for medical, psychological, financial, or legal counseling.  For such advice, please consult a qualified professional. The information provided in a Tarot reading is not legally binding and the Tarot reader assumes no legal liability for any damages, losses, or other consequences of any client decisions or actions, subsequent to, or based on, this service.

8 Comments
  1. johnballantrae permalink

    Dear James:

    I’m confused. I can understand your answer, but I don’t get the question.

    If the husband is a UK citizen, what sort of problems can there be? He has rights relating to his spouse and children. I mean, what actual problems does the questioner foresee, or what qualification criteria is she worried about?

    Yours,

    John Ballantrae

    • Hi John,
      I know what you’re saying. Since I can’t have a dialogue with the seekers for these questions, I have to take them on face value and trust that she knew what she was talking about here.
      Best,
      James

    • cindy permalink

      James, thanks so much for the reading. It was spot-on! Regarding John’s question – even though my husband is a UK citizen, our children are U.S. citizens. As such, we were required to get VISAs to live, work, and go to school in the UK. Things got complicated because I showed up at the border previously without the right VISAs and was refused entry (along with my kids) – a very upsetting experience. I was concerned that we would be refused and have to appea,l, which would be a long, expensive process. I did have to cut through red tape and remain strong for my kids, even though I was freaking out on the inside.

      James, your insights are excellent!

  2. One of the qualifications relates to income, the applicants must be able to prove the family can support themselves financially without relying on the state.

    • cindy permalink

      We had to prove our relationship to our sponsor, my husband, that he could support us without relying on public funds, and that we had a place to live. The application is very paper-intensive!

  3. johnballantrae permalink

    Thanks to Helen for the information.

    Since it was Swords that came up, maybe income is not going to be a problem, but some other criterion will be?

    • cindy permalink

      Bureaucracy was going to be the big hold up – which is why I think the Swords were coming up. I believe that our application was initially looked at and put aside for further review, because we had the refusal at the border. I contacted our state Senator, who put in a request on our behalf, and we received our VISAs shortly after. It could have been that we would have heard anyway, but it is uplifting to see our government working on our behalf.

Leave a Reply

