Skip to content

Ask KnightHawk — Tarot Career Path

July 11, 2010

Dear KnightHawk,

I would like some advice about my career as a Tarot reader. I’m becoming more successful as an email and online reader, but I’m not sure what my next step should be. I am looking for ways to enlarge my market or to find a way to do face-to-face readings (although there are a few obstacles for that) … or something else? Can the cards offer some advice?
Thank you and best wishes,
Sincerely,
Internet Tarot Reader

Dear Internet Tarot Reader,

Here are the cards I dealt for you:

Demons (Devil) -- Tarot of the Majors . Queen of Coins (Pentacles) -- Tarot of the Masters . Two of Coins (Pentacles) -- Tarot of the Masters

Card 1 (Major Arcana Card for Spiritual advice) – Demons (aka, The Devil)
Card 2 (Court Card for a trait to develop or emphasize) – Queen of Coins
Card 3 (PIP card for a suggested action) – Two of Coins

The first thing I notice is that all of the cards here are related to the element of “earth.” (The Devil card is traditionally associated with Capricorn.) What I’m seeing in that is not money issues, though, but rather issues of value and worth. The cards are talking about the true value of what you are doing, not the monetary success of it. So with that in mind, let’s consider the individual cards.

Demons

This card advises you to release your attachment to evaluating your success by material measures. What’s more important to consider at this time is how well you are helping other people deal with their problems, issues, and suffering—in other words, helping them overcome their own “demons.”

Queen of Coins

The Queen of Coins can indicate someone who is supportive of the well-being of other people, and she is resourceful, generous, and nurturing. In light of the message of the previous card (which was to try to measure your success by how much you help other people), the trait of this queen that I see as most important for you to emphasize is that of nurturing.

This card also indicates the seeming paradox of abundance born of charity. You see, generosity does not deplete us; it enables the endless bounty of the universe to flow into and through our lives. And so your generosity and nurturing of other people will lead to more abundance in your life, but that is more of a side effect than the important focus.

Two of Coins

This card is about balance — maintaining balance in your life as well as balancing options and responsibilities. So the first message I see in this is to be careful when you undertake new options in your career. Don’t bite off more than you can chew, so to speak. When you consider taking on a new project, be sure that it won’t throw your life off balance.

Another common interpretation for this card is that of fun and enjoyment since it is one of the few Tarot cards that depict someone having a good time. Considering that the Devil card is often seen as the “party hearty” card (perhaps from its traditional association with Pan, the raucous Greek god), a suggestion that springs to mind is to explore the option of doing Tarot readings at parties.

To help you further, I will leave you with a few affirmations that are based on ones from my book, Tarot Affirmations. Feel free, of course, to adjust these to suit yourself.

First, here is one based on the Demons card:
I am learning to place my spiritual pursuits above my material concerns.

The next affirmation is associated with the Queen of Coins. It will lead you to find your place in the cycle of abundance that supports us all.
The bounty of the Universe flows through me as I give of myself to others.

The last two are based on the Two of Coins:
I am flexible and adaptable in my work.
I enjoy the work that I am doing.

I hope all this helps.  Good luck with your Tarot career!

Bright Blessings,
KnightHawk

NOTES:

“Ask KnightHawk” Readings:  If you would like to get an “Ask KnightHawk” reading from me, click on the Ask KnightHawk tab at the top of the page for more information. And if you would like to read a collection of KnightHawk readings for mythical, fictional, and historical figures, you will love my books Tarot Reading Explained and Tarot: Get the Whole Story.

Tarot Deck:  The deck used for this reading was my own Tarot of the Masters which you can only purchase from me. 

Private Readings:  Note that I offer private readings that are more in-depth.  They can be on the telephone, via Skype, using email, or in person (if you are in the Los Angeles area.)  For more information about that, see my reading services page.

Archives:  To see past “Ask KnightHawk” readings, see the KnightHawk Readings Index page.

Disclaimer: A Tarot reading is not a substitute for medical, psychological, financial, or legal counseling.  For such advice, please consult a qualified professional. The information provided in a Tarot reading is not legally binding and the Tarot reader assumes no legal liability for any damages, losses, or other consequences of any client decisions or actions, subsequent to, or based on, this service.

8 Comments
  1. johnballantrae permalink

    Dear James:

    I have a serious question here.
    You wrote:
    >generosity and nurturing of other people will lead to more abundance in your life

    I’ve come across this idea before, but can’t help but wonder why the richest and most successful people I know are basically self-absorbed and care little for the actual conditions of other people. They also worry endlessly about what might go wrong, and spend hours trying to figure out their rivals’ plans and intentions so they can counteract them.

    What’s going on? These people’s “self-limiting” beliefs that are supposed to be so bad and are to be avoided in our thinking, don’t have any impact on their actual success.

    Yours,

    John Ballantrae

    • Hi John,
      Ah, but the two are not equivalent. I didn’t say that being greedy and money grubbing can’t bring financial gain. What I said was that generosity liberates the flow of abundance in our lives.
      In logic terms, this may be expressed as:
      “A –> B” is not equivalent to “NOT A -/-> B”
      In any case, I’m just relaying the message I got from the Tarot.
      Best,
      James

  2. James,

    I have to say your reading has been absolutely spot on. Naturally all the cards are Earth cards- I’m a Taurus and a very typical one!!! Your idea of generosity that leads to abundance makes perfect sense to me. I’m a very nurturing person and I give a lot at my work- and that seems to be, they tell me, the secret of my growing clientele. Thank you very much for your enlightening reading!!!
    Rozonda (Internet Tarot Reader ;))

  3. The issue of wanting to be “successful” is a common one. I think abundance is a better word for what people really want. If someone wants to be successful, they need to understand there is a difference between financial success and job satisfaction (happiness) and there is often a trade-off between the two. I recently did a career reading for someone who wanted both (why not?) and the outcome was that there would be a hefty price tag attached. Nobody said it would come easy. Be careful what you ask for, you just might get it! In another reading for someone else, it became clear that her attachment to the financial aspect was causing her to operate from a place of fear and not helping her achieve her goal.

  4. You’re right , Helen – success must be measured in satisfaction, more then in money. Maybe I should have made clear that my goal is to make a living on Tarot only- at this moment I’m reaching that goal but up to now I have had to work on several things apart from Tarot. Tarot is my passion and I want to make it my permanent job because I love it, not because of ambition, and that’s why I asked James this question- I want Tarot to pay my bills, that is all!! 😀 Anyway, James is right- I don’t need to focus that much on money but more in doing my job well and taking baby steps, now I see that!! Hugs to all!

  5. Thanks Rozonda, my comment wasn’t addressed to you specifically but to the subsequent comments also. I think it highlights the importance of knowing what you want and how to ask for it (and being prepared to do what it takes to get it). I hope you do well:-)

  6. Helen and Rozonda — Thanks for your discussion here, for sharing your thoughts about this!
    Best,
    James

Leave a Reply

