Skip to content

Ask KnightHawk — Aspiring Writer

July 21, 2010

Dear KnightHawk,
My biggest goal in life is to become a published writer. Besides writing and submitting, how can I better adapt myself to achieve my goal?
Sincerely,
Aspiring Scribe

.

Dear Aspiring Scribe,

Thank you for requesting a reading to help your career.
Here are the cards I dealt for you:

The Star -- Tarot of the Masters . King of Cups -- Tarot of the Masters . Eight of Wands -- Tarot of the Masters

Card 1 (Major Arcana Card for Spiritual advice) – The Star
Card 2 (Court Card for a trait to develop or emphasize) – King of Cups
Card 3 (PIP card for a suggested action) – Eight of Wands

A general message that I see here is the advice that you must first turn inward before you can succeed outwardly. The following comments from the specific cards in this reading will clarify that message for you.

The Star:

This card says that as you strive to become more in touch with your soul’s purpose, your writing will resonate more and more with that sense of purpose, and it will take on a deeper, more authentic quality. This development will make it more attractive to your audience. And becoming more in touch with your soulful purpose will bring the stars into alignment, so to speak, for the success of your career.

King of Cups:

Like the previous card, this one has a very calm, meditative air to it, although the waterfall in the background of my Tarot of the Masters version of the card hints at turmoil in the past.

The King of Cups has learned to master his emotions so that he is not tossed about by emotional turmoil. This means that you need to cultivate your ability to stay calm and focused, and not be bowled over every time one of your submissions gets rejected.  When that happens, remain calm, and try again.  This also suggests that you consider dealing with some emotional turmoil from your past so that you will be able to integrate it into your writing. In other words, incorporate your past traumas and emotional wounds in your writing. However, be sure to maintain enough detachment from them so that your characters will be balanced and sympathetic.

Eight of Wands:

Sometimes I see the people on the Tarot of the Masters Eight of Wands as running toward something, and sometimes I see them running away from something. In this reading, I see this card as an indication that there is something in your past that you are trying to avoid coming to terms with. (This may refer to the pain and suffering mentioned with the previous card.) You need to confront this darkness head-on, and once you do, you will be able to make your writing more focused and to bring it more in alignment with your soulful purpose. This will also accelerate your writing career because you will have more drive and more energy for it as you no longer have to expend energy avoiding this issue or issues.

.

To help you in this situation, I would like to leave you with the following affirmations, which are adapted from my book, Tarot Affirmations. Feel free, of course, to adjust them to suit yourself.

First, here are a couple that are based on the Star card:
I receive divine inspiration when I quiet my mind to listen for it.
I feel a strong connection to my deeply spiritual nature.

The next affirmation is based on the King of Cups:
I am calm and in control of my emotions.

The last one is based on the Eight of Wands:
I boldly pursue my dreams and desires.

I hope all this helps your career prosper.

.

Bright Blessings,
KnightHawk

NOTES:

“Ask KnightHawk” Readings:  If you would like to get an “Ask KnightHawk” reading from me, click on the Ask KnightHawk tab at the top of the page for more information. And if you would like to read a collection of KnightHawk readings for mythical, fictional, and historical figures, you will love my books Tarot Reading Explained and Tarot: Get the Whole Story.

Tarot Deck:  The deck used for this reading was my own Tarot of the Masters which you can only purchase from me. 

Private Readings:  Note that I offer private readings that are more in-depth.  They can be on the telephone, via Skype, using email, or in person (if you are in the Los Angeles area.)  For more information about that, see my reading services page.

Archives:  To see past “Ask KnightHawk” readings, see the KnightHawk Readings Index page.

Disclaimer: A Tarot reading is not a substitute for medical, psychological, financial, or legal counseling.  For such advice, please consult a qualified professional. The information provided in a Tarot reading is not legally binding and the Tarot reader assumes no legal liability for any damages, losses, or other consequences of any client decisions or actions, subsequent to, or based on, this service.

7 Comments
  1. David permalink

    Interesting insight from your Contrapositive technique when applied to these cards. Card #1 becomes the Four in the Major Arcana, the Emperor, and may be saying that Aspiring Writer is dealing with a strong thought about how his writing should go. Seeing himself as an accomplished writer of “Star” quality may be a strong dream that is being strongly held in his consciousness (Emperor quality) that is not easily released so that a new approach can surface. Card # 2, the King of Cups, contrapositively the Page of Sword is telling him to cut through to his truth. Has he done all that he can to develop his skills as a writer and is he willing to look deeper into a new approach. Card #3 the 8 of Wands becomes the 3 of Cups and gives Aspiring Writer a positive push that his dream of becoming an accomplished writer is achievable with the cooperation and support of others. The cards seem to be saying “Your dreams will come to fruition once you release issues of the past and look to your future with hope and connection to your Soul’s purpose.”

    James, your Contrapositive technique is a brilliant new approach to Tarot reading, Thank you, ~David

    • Hi David,
      Thanks! Actually, though, I didn’t intend for the contra-positive technique to be applied to every card I read. 😀
      I did briefly consider it for the final card, the 8/Wands, since that one indicates a bit of a problem that might need a bit of help. In that case, I would see the 3/Cups (the contra-positive card) as advice to get help from supportive friends in facing and overcoming the indicated problems of the past, which is similar to what you said.
      Best,
      James

    • The CP for the King of Cups should be the ‘Page of Wands’ – not the Page of Swords – I’m reading things correctly.

      Wands (fire) vs. Cups (water)
      Swords (air) vs. Pentacles (earth).

      Page – King
      Knight – Queen

      Don S.

  2. James, thank you so much for the reading. It is similar to the my own readings for this issue. There is a fear or issue that needs to be faced to allow the movement forward. Problem is, I’m not sure what this is (well, I do have past issues but I thought for sure I’d overcome them), or how to fix the problem so I can move forward.

    Maybe if I do a reading concerning the issue that needs to be overcome, I’ll find the answer.

    Thanks again.

  3. David permalink

    Thanks, Don. You are right. A slip up; will learn this approach because of its value.

Leave a Reply

