Skip to content

A 7-card relationship spread

August 30, 2010

I often create a spread for a reading on the spot if that seems to be what is needed, and yesterday I did that in preparation for doing an email reading about a relationship problem. Of course, since it’s an email reading, I had to type it up anyway, so I thought I’d also share this new relationship spread with all of you. It is a (very) modified version of the well-known Past, Present, Future spread where I strung the cards vertically rather than horizontally, I expanded upon the Present and Future positions, and I added a final card for advice.[1]

Here is the basic layout:

Relationship Spread August 2010

Here are the spread position definitions:

1.  Issue(s) from the past that are relevant to your relationship

2.  What you need to deal with at the present time

3.  Where the relationship stands right now

4.  What you need to understand about where the other person is coming from

5.  Issue(s) looming on the horizon

6.  Strengths or resources you can access to deal with those future issues

7.  General advice from the Universe

I have to say, this spread served me quite well in the reading I did with it, and I would be interested to hear how your experiences with it go if you choose to use it.  I think you will find that this spread can show you how to improve your relationship, whether that means solving problems in one or just making a good one better.


[1] I explain this technique of expanding upon old standby spreads, and many other techniques too, in my book Tarot: Get the Whole Story.

12 Comments
  1. Davina permalink

    Relationship issues can be difficult in as much as there is a temptation to look at the issue from BOTH sides – something that can raise ethical issues if you do not have permission to do this for the party not present at the reading. This spread does take that ‘problem’ out of the equation, but still has potential to give a lot of insight for the person receiving the reading.

    • Yes, people often want to know what the other person is thinking, feeling, doing, etc., which I avoid for ethical reasons. I will, however, phrase a spread position something like card #4 here — “What do you need to know …” and trust the Universe to decide what the seeker needs to know.

  2. mar permalink

    Thanks James,
    This is a great spread! Wonderful of you to share 🙂

  3. James, great spread. I also agree with the stating of position 4. It is also the way I go about such a reading. “What do I need to know…” is a great beginnning to questions that lean toward another person other than the client.

  4. In relationship questions, many a time i am also faced in the dilemma in which the querant does want to know about how the other party feels.

    Hence using this spread would avoid the ethical issue as well as to help in the querant’s issue.

    Thank you for this spread.

  5. Victoria Evangelina permalink

    It sounds like a very practical spread, James, thank you! I noticed that when your blog talks about something I should pay attention to in my life, I can open it in Uzbekistan 🙂 Seriously. So it was with Magical Forest review, then a couple of other posts and now this one. Other times, it WOULD NOT OPEN, just how wiered is that?
    Unfortunately, I cannot see the picture of the layout…. could you either send it to me or post on the Facebook in your pictures or something? Thank you!!!!

    • Hi Victoria
      Spirit moves in mysterious ways, eh?
      Yes, I’ll send you the spread layout.
      Best,
      James

  6. if it was in the following manner the spread may be related to the kaballah’s 7 sphere from 10 to 4.

    5……..6
    …..7
    4……..3
    …..1
    …..2

    1. Issue(s) from the past that are relevant to your relationship (foundation) Yeshod

    2. Where the relationship stands right now(Malkuth current situation)

    3. What you need to deal with at the present time

    4. What you need to understand about where the other person is coming from

    5. Issue(s) looming on the horizon

    6. Strengths or resources you can access to deal with those future issues

    7. General advice from the Universe

    • An interesting new view of this spread.
      I’m sure that anyone interested in the Kaballah will find this illuminating.
      Thanks!
      Best,
      James

  7. Thank you for sharing James! as relationship readings keep coming all the time is nice to try new and fresh methods.

  8. ooomah permalink

    Hello all I am interested in tarot and astrology I would like to discuss how the astrological decans work with the minor arcana and how the effect the meaning of the cards

    • Hi Ooomah,
      I don’t use astrological decans, but I might post something about astrology and tarot sometime, so keep your eye on this blog.
      Best,
      James
      PS: If anyone knows of a site that discusses this, please reply to Ooomah.

Leave a Reply

