Skip to content

Ask KnightHawk — Pending Retirement

September 6, 2010

Dear KnightHawk,
I am about sixty years old and contemplating retirement this coming year.  My husband and I have prepared as much as possible (he is currently retired), but I am still anxious about taking the leap and I’m nervous about our financial security.  We live modestly and feel we could do it, but letting go is difficult (although I am more than ready).
What advice do the cards have for me about making this decision?
Sincerely,
Ready to Retire

.

Dear Ready to Retire,
Thank you for requesting a reading at this pivotal time in your life.
Here are the cards I dealt for you:

Magician -- Tarot of the Masters . King of Coins / Pentacles in Tarot of the Masters . Nine of Cups -- Tarot of the Masters

Card 1 (Major Arcana Card for Spiritual advice) – The Magician
Card 2 (Court Card for traits to develop or emphasize) – King of Coins
Card 3 (PIP card for suggested action) – Nine of Cups

A general message that I see here is that with a bit of planning and preparation (see details below) you should be able to make your retirement work. Here are the interpretations for the cards I drew for you.

The Magician:

The Magician says, “Take a hard look at the numbers to see if retirement makes sense at this time, and if it does, then do it!” This card is also about taking action with trust that the Universe will direct your hand (so to speak) in such a way that you will be able to manifest what you need.

Similarly, the Magician suggests that you should remain active in your retirement.  Look for something to do that you find truly fulfilling and that serves your soulful purpose. In your retirement, you can do something like that even if it doesn’t bring in a lot of money, since it sounds like a small supplement will be sufficient. It is the spiritual fulfillment of this activity that will be most important.

Finally, consider the following quote (which is about the Magician) from my work-in-progress book, Tarot and Your Spiritual Path:

When we allow ourselves to be a conduit for a higher power, we are able to connect with a divine source through our actions in the material world. In this way, we can bring spiritual energy into our lives here on the Earthly plane.

King of Coins:

Note that the King of Coins in my deck, Tarot of the Masters, echoes the Magician in that he holds one hand upraised toward the energy of the Universe and from the other, he seems to manifest good fortune.  So this card advises you to trust in your ability to manifest prosperity all around you and to have a sense of abundance in your life. The sense of security you seek lies in the confidence that you have the facility to create all that you need.

Nine of Cups:

This card indicates a community of like souls, and I see this as advice that perhaps part of the solution for you is to find such a community. Perhaps moving to a retirement community would put you into a better financial position or it might be more supportive in general than where you are now? Of course, such a move will entail a bit of planning (as indicated by this card’s contra-positive card, the Two of Wands), but I’m sure you’re able to handle that.

.

To help you in this situation, I would like to leave you with the following affirmations, which are adapted from my book, Tarot Affirmations. (You can read more about using affirmations with Tarot cards in a prior blog post.)  Feel free, of course, to pick and choose among them and to adjust them to suit yourself.

First, here are a couple of affirmations based on the Magician card:
I believe in magic, and I am always ready for a miracle to happen.
I have all the skills and experience that I need to make my retirement a success.

The next two affirmations work well with the King of Coins:
My husband and I are able to create a secure retirement for ourselves.

We have the skills we need to create an abundant life.

The final affirmation is related to the Nine of Cups:
We deserve a successful and enjoyable retirement.

Bright Blessings,
KnightHawk

.

NOTES:

“Ask KnightHawk” Readings:  If you would like to get an “Ask KnightHawk” reading from me, click on the Ask KnightHawk tab at the top of the page for more information. And if you would like to read a collection of KnightHawk readings for mythical, fictional, and historical figures, you will love my books Tarot Reading Explained and Tarot: Get the Whole Story.

Tarot Deck:  The deck used for this reading was my own Tarot of the Masters which you can only purchase from me. 

Private Readings:  Note that I offer private readings that are more in-depth.  They can be on the telephone, via Skype, using email, or in person (if you are in the Los Angeles area.)  For more information about that, see my reading services page.

Archives: To see past “Ask KnightHawk” readings, see the KnightHawk Readings Index page.

.

Disclaimer: A Tarot reading is not a substitute for medical, psychological, financial, or legal counseling.  For such advice, please consult a qualified professional. The information provided in a Tarot reading is not legally binding and the Tarot reader assumes no legal liability for any damages, losses, or other consequences of any client decisions or actions, subsequent to, or based on, this service.

4 Comments
  1. PS: In case you’re wondering, I do realize the amusing irony of doing a reading about retirement on Labor Day. 😀

  2. Linda permalink

    James –
    Thank you so much for doing this spread for me on retirement. I have been struggling with it for some time now and would like to make a decision by the end of this school year. Your reading was very helpful and offered several new insights I had not considered.
    Many thanks!
    Linda

  3. I liked the advice to stay active if she does go for it. That is a common fear among those ready to retire, that suddenly their social connections to the world will be gone. After getting up and going to work every day for years, interacting with people all day, it can be scary to feel like you’re unplugging from society. People remain active longer and longer these days, retirement doesn’t have to mean you sit on the porch and knit all day (unless you want to!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

