Skip to content

Ask KnightHawk — Struggling Mom

October 14, 2010

Dear KnightHawk,
Our family of 5 is struggling a bit at the moment. How can we achieve harmony and a happy family life?
Sincerely,
Struggling Mom

Dear Struggling Mom,
Thank you for this reading request.  Here are the cards I dealt for you:

The Empress -- Tarot of the Masters . King of Swords -- Tarot of the Masters . Seven of Coins (Tarot of the Masters)

Card 1 (Major Arcana Card for Spiritual advice) – The Empress
Card 2 (Court Card for traits to develop or emphasize) – King of Swords
Card 3 (PIP card for suggested action) – Seven of Coins

A general message that I see here is that unconditional love, increased parental attention and awareness, and a reevaluation of what is important in life are all vital to bringing harmony back into your family. The specific messages of these three cards follow.

Empress:

The Empress indicates the importance of nurturing others with your loving care. More specifically in the context of this reading, it suggests that you put more effort into exploring and understanding the problems of other family members, but be sure to do so from a place that is non-judgmental. Please don’t think I am saying that you are being judgmental or uncaring with your family. Not at all.  It’s just that this card is saying that special attention to those aspects of your relationship with your family is essential at this time. And this spiritual lesson of exercising unconditional and non-judgmental love has an important impact as you will see in the message of the next card.

King of Swords:

Part of the message that I see in this card comes from the unique image that is on the Tarot of the Masters version of it. Notice the figures in the background who are acting outside of the awareness of the king as he sits on his pedestal. This feature caught my attention, and it indicates that there are problems or issues that other family members (especially your children) are dealing with that you are not aware of. The effects of these external issues are creeping into the dynamics of your family life and are causing problems there. The advice of this card is to find out what those issues are before they get out of hand. But (again) be careful to avoid being judgmental when you search for them. These issues need a parental attitude of “You can tell me anything and I won’t judge you.  I only want to help you.”

The King of Swords suggests that you will need to exert your parental authority more, but do it assertively, not aggressively; firmly, but with compassion. It also suggests paying close attention into setting proper limits and boundaries for your children.  I know that on the surface, this advice may seem to conflict with the advice about being non-judgmental above.  But if you consider it carefully, you’ll see that it doesn’t.

Seven of Coins:

This card is about reevaluation, and in this case, it suggests a reevaluation of what is truly important for you and your family. Spend some time with your family considering this. Reassess the amount of time and energy that you and your spouse put into your careers because it seems that your family could use more of your time and attention. And ask your children to reassess their priorities too.

.

To help you in this situation, I would like to leave you with the following affirmations, which are adapted from my book, Tarot Affirmations. (You can also read about using affirmations with Tarot cards in a prior blog post.)  Feel free, of course, to pick and choose among them and to adjust them to suit yourself.

First, here are a couple of affirmations based on the Empress card:
I treat my family with kindness and compassion.
I am a nurturing influence in my family.

Next are a couple that work well with the King of Swords:
I make fair and impartial decisions for my family.
I maintain order within my family.

The last two were inspired by the Seven of Coins:
I am willing to reassess my goals in life.
Every day I lovingly tend the “garden” of my family.

I hope this reading and these affirmations help you and your family regain balance and harmony.

Bright Blessings,
KnightHawk

.

NOTES:

“Ask KnightHawk” Readings:  If you would like to get an “Ask KnightHawk” reading from me, click on the Ask KnightHawk tab at the top of the page for more information. And if you would like to read a collection of KnightHawk readings for mythical, fictional, and historical figures, you will love my books Tarot Reading Explained and Tarot: Get the Whole Story.

Tarot Deck:  The deck used for this reading was my own Tarot of the Masters which you can only purchase from me. 

Private Readings:  Note that I offer private readings that are more in-depth.  They can be on the telephone, via Skype, using email, or in person (if you are in the Los Angeles area.)  For more information about that, see my reading services page.

Archives:  To see past “Ask KnightHawk” readings, see the KnightHawk Readings Index page.

.

Disclaimer: A Tarot reading is not a substitute for medical, psychological, financial, or legal counseling.  For such advice, please consult a qualified professional. The information provided in a Tarot reading is not legally binding and the Tarot reader assumes no legal liability for any damages, losses, or other consequences of any client decisions or actions, subsequent to, or based on, this service.

2 Comments
  1. StrugglingMum permalink

    Hello,

    Thank you so much for choosing my question for a reading!

    Your reading is an eye opener in a lot of ways:

    “The King of Swords suggests that you will need to exert your parental authority more.” Unfortunately I have to admit that I kind of knew this all along – only I did not want to admit it and/or was looking for the easy way out. It is hard work keeping those kids in check but I will indeed strive to work harder.

    “Reassess the amount of time and energy that you and your spouse put into your careers because it seems that your family could use more of your time and attention.” We do spend a lot of time with our kids. However, how I am interpreting this is, that we need to spend more one on one time with each of the kids which is something we have neglected quite a bit.

    “And ask your children to reassess their priorities too.” I think this might be about the lack of respect we feel we have been getting from them. Maybe we do indeed need to sit down as a family and tell them how upsetting this is for us parents. Indeed we should sit down as a family and agree on what can work for us.

    “The effects of these external issues are creeping into the dynamics of your family life and are causing problems there.” Hmmm … I wonder what this is about! Will definitely follow your advice on carefully exploring what might be going on unbeknownst to us.

    The Empress has been coming up in readings for myself (by myself) a lot which was part of the reason why I wanted to get behind our family issues. I couldn’t figure out the message this card was trying to get across, thank you so much for solving a huge part of the puzzle for me!

    Many thanks again!

    Wishing you well,

    StrugglingMum

Leave a Reply

