Skip to content

Love and Compassion Spread

November 3, 2010

Ace of Cups -- Tarot of the MastersIn my book, The Soul’s Journey, I present a spread called the Love and Compassion Spread. It is designed to explore the general question of what love and compassion are from a spiritual point of view (vs. from a purely relationship POV).

If you want to use this spread, you can do a reading for a question something like this:

“What do I need to know about love and compassion and about how they support my spiritual journey?”

You can tailor the spread to make it more specific to your life, but here is an example of what you can use:

Love and Compassion Spread layout1.      Where do I need to express more love in my life?

2.      Where do I need to exhibit more compassion in my life?

3.      How does my love for other people differ from my compassion toward them?

4.      How are they similar?

5.      How do love and compassion enrich my life?

6.      How do they heal and transform me?

7.      How do they contribute to my spiritual growth?

To help you better understand positions 3 and 4, consider what the dictionary says about these two words. It tells us that love is a profound feeling of attachment and affection for another person, as well as concern for their well-being. The definition of compassion is a bit more complex. This word is derived from the Latin word compatī, “to suffer with,” so literally, it means “suffering with another person.” It isn’t that simple, of course. Compassion is defined as a profound awareness of and sympathy for the suffering and misfortune of another person which is accompanied by a desire to ease their pain and help them with their adversity. So the two words are similar, but with important differences.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

