Skip to content

The Star — Spiritual Message of the Day

January 22, 2011

“In the face of uncertainty, there’s nothing wrong with hope.” – Dr. Bernie Siegel

The Star -- Tarot of the MastersThe stars in the heavens symbolize our hopes and dreams, and this card calls to mind phrases like “a guiding star” and “wish upon a star.”  Indeed, when I was a child whenever I saw the first star in the evening sky I would recite this poem:

Star light, star bright!
First star I see tonight!
I wish I may, I wish I might
Have this wish I wish tonight.

Then I would silently make a wish. Although it was rare that these wishes came true, I continued to make them, for this simple ritual was an expression of my faith that there is always hope for a better and brighter future. Sometimes just having that innocent hope was enough to sustain me, while at other times, my wishes sparked my imagination, which then lifted me into a happier world.

And so this card urges us to keep hope alive. Hope sustains us and lets us dare to make wishes, and wishes help us create the future that we envision through them. As Dante said, “If you follow your star, you cannot fail of glorious heaven.”

If you enjoy these words of spiritual advice from the cards, you will love my new Tarot book called The Soul’s Journey: Finding Spiritual Messages in the Tarot.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

