Skip to content

The Hermit — Spiritual Message of the Day

April 13, 2011

Hermit -- Tarot of the MastersThe Hermit card is often seen as representing an unconventional teacher, like the stereotype of a guru living in seclusion on a mountaintop. (This is in contrast to the orthodox teacher we see in the Hierophant card.) And so this card suggests the saying, “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.”

A guru is characterized as someone who dispels spiritual ignorance (darkness), with spiritual illumination (light), but even then, a guru or spiritual guide cannot give us the answers. S/he can spark an awareness within us that already exists and thereby help us discover the answers that are already there inside our souls. Truly, all the answers we seek lie within us already. They await the proper conditions to manifest, just as a flower sleeps within a bud until the right conditions occur, at which time it blooms.

One way of understanding this is to consider that we hear only what we are ready to hear. If we are not yet receptive to something, we ignore it or discount it. For example, I was given a copy of Ram Dass’s classic Be Here Now in 1978, and it was over twenty years before I started reading it in earnest.

So the teacher may have been there all along, but until we’re ready, we won’t notice him/her or we won’t take him/her seriously. Consequently, advice from this card is to be ready, open and receptive to spiritual learning so that you will find the teacher you need. To do that, you may want to use one of the following affirmations from my book, Tarot Affirmations.

I value my quest for purpose and meaning in life.
My spirituality is more important to me than the mundane, material things in my life.
I realize that true joy and happiness come from my quest to understand and unite with the Divine.

If you enjoy these words of spiritual advice from the cards, you will love my new Tarot book called The Soul’s Journey: Finding Spiritual Messages in the Tarot.

6 Comments
  1. I feel like this card is speaking to me today. Really resonates with me at this particular moment in my life. Thanks!

  2. A very lovely and clear description of the Hermit. Thinking about it, the Hermit is the card I’d choose if someone asked me to pick a card to describe my life. The quiet learning, the testing in the world, the return to quiet learning… the silence has always held the most answers, and sharing them with others is just another way of testing them. Blessed are those who find the Silence within themselves. 😉

    • Thanks, Jesa, and you raise some good points.
      And yes, there’s a flip side to “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.” It’s: “When the teacher is ready, the students will appear” and I plan to talk about that in a future post about the Hermit. 😀

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Hermit — Spiritual Message of the Day « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog
  2. Knight Cups Spiritual Message « James Ricklef's Tarot Blog

Leave a Reply

