Skip to content

Knight of Cups — Spiritual Message of the Day

July 12, 2011

Knight of Cups -- Tarot of the MastersThe Knight of Cups is a card often associated with romance, perhaps with a touch of longing or idealism to it, as in the famous phrase, “Someday my Prince will come,” to quote the title of a song in the classic Disney movie Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. Consequently it reminds me of one of the more common questions for a Tarot reading: “When will I meet my soul mate?”

I’ve always thought that a better question in such circumstances is something like: “What can I do to be better ready for a positive, loving relationship?” This line of thought recently led me to recall another famous saying: “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear” and to use it as a template for the answer to that common romance reading question. In other words, the answer to “When will I meet my soul mate?” is always (at least to some extent) “When the person is ready, the soul mate will appear.”

Unfortunately, I’ve found that most people don’t seem to want to hear that. They don’t want to admit that they may not be ready for the relationship that their soul wants them to have, and they don’t want to have to bear the responsibility and to do the work of improving themselves. The hard truth is, though, that that’s what’s necessary. The wonderful truth is that once you’ve done that work, the Universe will conspire to bring you the love that you need and deserve.
.
Postscript: Although some people consider a soul mate to be a unique person with whom they are destined to fall in love, I see this term as referring to any person with whom we have developed a loving, spiritual relationship.

If you enjoy these words of spiritual advice from the cards, you will love my book, The Soul’s Journey: Finding Spiritual Messages in the Tarot.

.

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

