Skip to content

The Mulch Spread

May 1, 2012

At my evening workshop at the Readers Studio last week (Spiritual Tarot – A New Paradigm for the 21st Century), one thing I talked about was using spiritual insights (quotes, passages, books, etc.) as inspiration for a spread. As an example of that, here is a spread that I created today, inspired by the May 1 entry in Mark Nepo’s daybook, The Book of Awakening. In that section of his book, Nepo talks about a gentle laying aside of aspects of our lives that have outlived their usefulness so that new aspects may grow up in their place. (He likens this process to burying that which is dead in order to create mulch, which aids in new growth.) Nepo concludes with this quote:

We live, embrace, and [then] put to rest our dearest things, including how we see ourselves, so we can resurrect our lives anew.

Eight of Cups -- Tarot of the Masters
(Note that I see this quote as a lovely way to express the Eight of Cups card.)

I envision the spread that follows as being useful in our quest for self-exploration and self-renewal. I hope you may find it to be so too, and I would love to hear any stories you have about using it. Feel free to post them here as comments.

— THE MULCH SPREAD —

The Mulch Spread Layout

Card 1: What is something in your life that you need to lay to rest? This may be a relationship, a belief, a feeling, etc. (If you came to this reading with something already in mind that you think you need to let go of, this card can be interpreted as a comment on how or why you need to do so.)

Card 2: How has it helped you become the person you are today?

Card 3: Why are you still holding on to it?

Card 4: What is waiting to sprout into your life as you bury this out-lived aspect of your life and let it mulch back into the soil of your life.

6 Comments
  1. James, this could not have come at a better time. Thank you!

  2. Kitty permalink

    Thanks, James! I myself drew the eight of cups not long ago with regards to something that I already knew I needed to leave behind. I think that a spread like this one would be perfect for getting more insight into the situation.

  3. I’m laughing at myself. I saved this post to read (I get your blog via RSS and am loving the Pithy Tarot!). I just finally found the right moment to read this. Perfection. It addresses something I need to look into. I’ll be doing it on my blog (linking back here, naturally.) Thanks for sharing a tremendously useful spread.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mulch, Release & Inspiration | Musings On The Tarot
  2. Mulch, Release & Inspiration | Tarot By Arwen

Leave a Reply

