Skip to content

Judgment — Spiritual Message of the Day

May 10, 2013

Judgment -- Tarot of the MastersAs I noted in a previous blog post, the Judgment card is about hearing (and heeding) a call to awaken to our divine nature. A related view of this card is to see it as an indication of our ability to access the wisdom of what Itzhak Bentov termed “the Universal Mind.”

In his book A Brief Tour of Higher Consciousness, Bentov asserts that there is a cosmic consciousness from which a human mind can derive any knowledge needed as long as it is sufficiently prepared to receive it. Of course, the part about being sufficiently prepared is the catch. It’s like this consciousness is the internet, and we need to configure our mental computer to access it.

The best way to prepare is through the practice of meditation, which quiets the chatter of our “monkey mind” so that we can hear the wisdom of the Divine instead. However, we can also catch a glimpse of this process whenever an answer comes to us after we have left a problem alone and diverted our conscious attention by doing something simple like making a cup of tea or going for a walk. Of course, sleep may be the ultimate diversionary activity. It allows our unconscious mind to explore answers for our problems and then communicates them to us in our dreams.

So we see that although our rational thought process has a valuable place in shaping our lives, it can also be limited and limiting. When we take our mind off of the issue at hand, however, our unconscious mind is freed to bring us answers from a higher source, which is always available, without the hindrance of the criticism and skepticism of our conscious mind.

If you enjoy these words of spiritual advice from the cards, you will love my new Tarot book called The Soul’s Journey: Finding Spiritual Messages in the Tarot.

2 Comments
  1. Beautifully stated and insightful. Very accurately reflects what I have felt all my life and is my guiding force. I always felt (and used this term) ‘the cosmic consciousness’ when I created art. I miss the art I created pre-technology, pre-camera because it was always very easy for me to figure out how to use whatever tools and equipment I needed.

    My mind, body, heart, soul and intellect were free to focus on the media, my imagination and it all flowed. Then I lived on a different level.

    I love the computer, which is so enabling for artists/photographers on so many levels. BUT modern technology requires we always be logical … pay attention to location of tools, aware of keyboard shortcuts (or looking for more), Goggling help to do something new (because the answers are NOT intuitive, as they are in traditional art), whatever.

    I’m dealing with changes in my photo program which is so distracting. WHY change the behavior of programs, why make us learn how to do what we already know? The ppl who program do not understand this level: when we are guided by not only the Universe or cosmic consciousness, but our own inner being … which is of course, created from and part of that. That comes from not paying attention to some steps because they are such a part of ourselves, we don’t have to think.

    Every time I do something I’ve done for years and I get a different result, merely because a programmer likes to tinker, I tend to swear … oops, but they’ve broken my flow. Why do they do this? Not fun.

    Walking works wonders for me. I am blessed to live in a lovely neighborhood, usually pleasant weather, flowers, lovely homes, parks, people. I can get lost and found walking. BUT everyone talks about meditation, yoga, walking: all great and important for our bodies too.

    However, no one ever talks about the kind of meditation artists know and experience. Like the ‘runner’s high.’ One of the reasons I enjoy making art, although fraught with real-world issues too often. That focus and flow is quite liberating for me.

    Again, thank you for your timely and wise posts. Namaste.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post, and thank you for your comments.
      I understand what you mean about technology and how it puts you more into a left brain mode. It took me a long time to learn how to write creatively using a word processor versus pen and paper, but I think I’ve got the hang of it finally. And I totally know what you mean about “the kind of meditation artists know and experience”… the times when you’re “in the zone” while creating. I had that happen all the time while I was creating my Tarot of the Masters.

Leave a Reply

