Skip to content

Pithy Tarot meanings — Five of Pentacles

May 26, 2013

Pentacles 05 RWS2.0 Tarot eCardsFive of Pentacles:
“For better or for worse.”
I have heard that in the 19th century (pre-RWS), this card was called “the marriage” card. When I tell people that, they think the image on this card of poverty and destitution is a sad comment on marriage, but I think it reflects the wedding vow noted above.

Do you like these pithy Tarot meanings? Find more on my Card Meanings page.  Also, get my Pithy Tarot eBook or the FREE app that uses my pithy Tarot meanings … and LIKE my Pithy Tarot Facebook page!

7 Comments
  1. I’ve heard this described as a marriage card before (I just remember the phrase, “Great for marriage, lousy for money” from an old podcast. Probably one of Leisa’s) I just grabbed my copy of the Great Etteilla, and card #73 (The five ounces) says “Lover on it”. I wonder if the 5 of pentacles as a poverty card came from the Golden Dawn tradition?

    • Yes, I think it was from the Golden Dawn, but I’m not sure of that. “Great for marriage, lousy for money” might have led to the modern “poverty” interpretation.

  2. Interesting. I guess the numerology of the 5 would be at the middle of the relationship turns to commitment…not the beginning as in the Ace.

  3. Susan Morrish permalink

    I had heard this before but seeing the comment with the picture bring it home – perhaps in modern terms, as we live in such a materialistic society, it means that when times get tough some get going.

  4. I think that this is a quite tongue in cheek perspective on this card. I can see the line of reasoning why it was called the marriage card. If we were to call it the marriage card we could take it further to signify a relationship which was outside the approval of the church. In those days it may have been someone married to a different religion or class.It may have also signified someone living together but not married.

    • Keep in mind that in the 19th century (i.e., pre-RWS), the image we now associate with this card was not yet created. That 19th C meaning (“the marriage card”) was associated with a Five of Coins card that was just 5 coin pips (for whatever reason) and NOT with that sad image we see today. Putting the two together (the 19th C. definition and the modern view) creates a sort of cognitive dissonance that led me to the pithy meaning noted. I find it to be a very comforting new way to view this card, and several people have told me that they do too. I certainly can also see how this can lead to the meanings you’ve noted: a relationship outside the approval of religious / social orthodoxy.

Leave a Reply

