Skip to content

How to do spiritual one-card readings

May 29, 2013

Today I was the featured guest on the podcast: “Kosmic Koffee with Kooch.”  I’ve been asked to write up a small part of that show (since it’s hard for people to transcribe while they listen) so here you go!

One of the things I mentioned on the show was that you can use spreads with spiritually oriented positions in the layout to give your readings a more spiritual content.  The simplest spread is, of course, the one-card spread, and you can assign a specific question to that one card.  I mentioned the following examples of questions you may use that will address secular issues—financial difficulties, relationship problems, career decisions, etc.—yet also incorporate a spiritual dimension that will provide a soulful component to your reading.

  • What is my divine purpose in these circumstances?
  • What spiritual guidance does the Divine have for me at this time?
  • What profound lesson can I learn from this situation?
  • What is the spiritual component of my problem that I need to understand?
  • What is the soulful purpose of my relationship with [insert name here]?
  • How can I address the problem I am facing in a way that is spiritually awakened?

Alternatively, instead of questions that address specific problems, more general questions may be used to get a more purely spiritual reading.  For example:

  • How is my life currently helping me become more spiritually enlightened?
  • Where is my soul leading me at this time?
  • What is the most important spiritual lesson I need to learn at this time in my life?
  • How can I strengthen my relationship with the Divine?
  • What is one step I can take along my spiritual path today?

Readings using questions like these are especially effective when you are (or want to be) in a reflective mood, and they can lift you out of ennui or depression when you are feeling mired in the drudgery of the mundane world.

Also, the use of one card to address this kind of question provides an excellent technique for doing a daily reading for a Tarot journal.  To do this, begin each day by formulating a question of the type noted above (either a specific one or a general one) and then use it for a one-card reading.  You may then let the resulting reading, which you can record in a journal, set the tone for the day.  Besides the guidance and insights that such readings provide, this practice will also help you attain a higher level of spirituality as you begin to see all aspects of your daily life from a more soulful perspective.

PS: Note that this material is in my new book, “The Soul’s Journey.”

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

