Skip to content

What are pithy Tarot meanings?

June 4, 2013

I have posted more than 1,000 pithy Tarot meanings so far.  According to Wiktionary, pithy means “Concise and meaningful; brief and to the point” and my  Pithy Tarot card meanings are short, easy to remember meanings.  They will even stimulate further insights when called to mind during a reading, and they are often quite fun.  Due to some conversations I’ve had about them, however, I’ve discovered that perhaps a bit more needs to be said.

First, there is the fact that they should be considered the proverbial “finger pointing at the moon.”  They point toward deeper meanings of the cards, and they point you toward your own discovery of the meaning of the cards.  And so, secondly, they should (hopefully) stimulate your thinking about the cards and what they mean.  Even if you have an immediate negative reaction to one, try thinking about how it might relate to the card; how might it be valid for that card?  When this has happened, I’ve had some great discussions with people about what a card might mean.  (I’ve also had some interesting discussions about philosophical issues like, “What does life mean?” as a consequence too.)

So that’s another thing I like about this process:  It’s always so cool how a simple, pithy message can stimulate such a lengthy, in-depth discussion.  I hope these pithy Tarot meanings help all of you on your journeys through both discovering the Tarot and experiencing life.

A Pithy eBook:
Pithy Tarot book coverI have created a Kindle book version of my pithy Tarot meanings.  Find out more about it here.  Note that I am also working on a paperback version, and I will post an update on my Pithy Book page when that is available.

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for a great tarot blog!

    Greetings from Seden.

    Minnah

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. How to find the meanings of Tarot cards | James Ricklef's Tarot Blog

Leave a Reply

