Skip to content
Tags

,

Request: Please don’t recommend my book, “Tarot Tells the Tale”! (Recommend “Tarot Reading Explained” instead)

November 14, 2013

Don't recommend Tarot Tells the Tale...Today, I would like to ask you all for a favor.  I often hear people say that they love my book Tarot Tells the Tale and they recommend it to their students or friends.  This is all very well and good, and I appreciate the emotional support, but the truth is that this gives me a warm feeling and that’s all.  It does nothing to support me financially because Llewellyn let that book go out of print a few years ago.  At that time, they dumped their remaining stock on the marketplace in a move that is called “remaindering”.  This means that they sold those last few hundred books to distributors and / or retailers at a rock-bottom price without giving the author a single penny of royalty.  (Yes, that’s zero dollars.)  The point is that now when those books are sold, the retailer gets 100% of the money and I get 0% of it. (By the way, this lack of any royalty is also true of sales of used books.)
Tarot Reading Explained cover
So what’s the solution?  What’s my request?

When Llewellyn let TTTT go out of print, I created a revised, improved edition and I self-published it with a new title: Tarot Reading Explained.  When you buy a copy of that book, either as a paperback or as a Kindle edition, I do get a royalty, as an author should.  So if you believe in fairness, I ask that you recommend to people that they get my new edition TRE instead of TTTT.

PS:
By the way, I have also self-published (and retitled) another book, Tarot: Get the Whole Story, since Llewellyn let that one go OOP too.  So now you can get the revised, republished edition. For more about that, see: https://jamesricklef.wordpress.com/2015/06/01/recommend-tarot-spreads-get-the-whole-story-instead/

From → Tarot Books

10 Comments
  1. That’s very interesting 🙂

  2. I’ve noticed that a lot of peole are self publishing now or going with ebooks.

  3. Very intresting and thanks for sharing

  4. Hello James,
    I just made a post as I had recommended TTTT, and made sure people know the real, new title. I find that although my Kindle is my favorite toy, as I am an avid reader, I still like reference books about Tarot and Astrology to be in paperback, so I can flip through the pages. It’s hard to study up on a reading device. I think it’s worth republishing, if it’s not too expensive. I have tarot e-books, but don’t feel I get as much out of them. Best wishes.

  5. I think that’s AWFUL what they’re doing. It seems so unfair!!
    But I understand where you’re coming from and will definitely recommend ‘Tarot reading explained’ in future.

    From now on I’m following your blog anyway so will buy anything that you publish and know that YOU get the royalties as you so rightly deserve.

    You’re an inspiration (to me and others) and I’m sure we’ll all do whatever it tastes to keep you going 🙂

    Blessed be
    Dawn

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Request: Please don’t recommend my book, “Tarot: Get the Whole Story”! (Recommend “Tarot Spreads: Get the Whole Story” instead) | James Ricklef's Tarot Blog

Leave a Reply

