Skip to content

What does the World card mean?

May 19, 2015

World card RWS2.0Here is a pithy meaning for the World card:
You’re only whole when you’re true to your Self.

Today’s meaning for the World card is actually deeper than just a pithy statement; it includes an alternative meaning for the World card that I have discovered.  In light of the fact that the woman on the RWS World card may be seen as a thinly disguised hermaphrodite,[1] I’ve found that this card may indicate people outside the sexual norms, conventions, or orthodoxy, such as, for example but not limited to, the LGBTQ community.

.

Note: Each of these pithy Tarot meanings is just one facet of its card. Find more of them on my Card Meanings page.  Also, get my Pithy Tarot eBook or the FREE app that uses my pithy Tarot meanings … and LIKE my Pithy Tarot Facebook page!

.

[1] See Rachel Pollack’s discussion of this in her seminal Tarot book, Seventy-Eight Degrees of Wisdom

From → Card meanings

5 Comments
  1. But what does the L G T B Q community have with the traditional or the universal translation?

  2. I have been getting the World in reverse a lot lately, though I know you don’t read with reverses. So it means I’m not being true to myself? I’ve been widowed after a 39 yr. marriage, so I’m figuring out who I am as no longer half of a couple, so in a way that does make sense. I couldn’t figure out what it meant before I read this. Thanks.

    • Here’s another suggestion: what you are dealing with at this time is a feeling that you aren’t “whole” now, which would be quite understandable in your circumstances.

  3. Thank you for taking the time to answer my question. I love your Tarot of the Masters Deck.

Leave a Reply

