Skip to content

Happy World Tarot Day!

May 25, 2015

World Card -- Tarot of the MastersAs part of my celebration of World Tarot Day (May 25) one of you can win a free reading.  More information on that in a moment.  First I want to mention that you can find LOTS of great Tarot information here on my blog. (What a great way to spend WTD, right?)

For example, you can find out what the cards mean, you can discover a lot of useful Tarot spreads, and you can see how to do a Tarot reading through some sample readings I’ve posted here.  In fact, you can even explore novel ways to use Tarot cards that go beyond the traditional way of doing readings.  If you want to find some Tarot book recommendation to learn even more, you can read a few Tarot book reviews. Also, I have posted a few Tarot deck reviews too. And, of course, you can find out about my own Tarot products (book, a deck, and an app) and my Tarot services.  There’s lots more on this blog, but that should get your started. 😉

Now… How to win that free reading! —

To enter, just post a comment below.  You can talk about anything Tarot-related: What level you are at (beginning, intermediate, professional, etc.), why you want a reading, what has been your most interesting Tarot-related experience (ex: a reading you got or one you did, a Tarot convention you went to, or how you discovered Tarot cards), what’s your favorite Tarot deck and why, etc.

Then, tomorrow I will pick one of the people who posted a comment, and I will contact you to set up a 3-card email reading — so don’t forget to include your email address on the comment form!

Update: We have a winner!

Pithy Tarot App: Ace of PentaclesI would like to announce the winner of the free 3-card email reading:  it’s Lauren.  How did I make the selection?  I let the Tarot do it for me. I decided to let my Pithy Tarot app deal one card until I got one that was numbered anywhere from one to six (since six people commented on this post in order to enter the contest).  The first card I drew was the Ace (One) of Pentacles, and Lauren’s comment was the first to come in.

Lauren, I will be contacting you soon with info about how to get your reading.

.

.

.

14 Comments
  1. Lauren permalink

    Hi James, thank you for offering this gift! I have never had a formal tarot reading but am very much a reader/researcher of all things of divine, synchronistic, and spiritual nature. Whether it be astrology, tarot, crystals, rituals, astronomy, or religion. Tools to easily access what we intuitively already know beneath the surface to be true. I have been working with the Osho Zen deck for a short time. My favorite card is the 6 of water: the dream. This sentiment rings true in so many ways. “Real love comes not from trying to solve our neediness by depending on another, but by developing our own inner richness and maturity. Then we have so much love to give that we naturally draw lovers towards us.” Well thanks again for your time and extending your kindness! I would be grateful to receive a reading. Lauren

    • Hi Lauren,
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I love the Osho Zen deck too. (And the Six of Water/Cups is a lovely card.) I generally use my own Tarot of the Masters deck for readings, but sometimes, in special circumstances, I use the OZ deck.
      Best,
      James

    • Lauren, I would like to let you know that you are the winner of a free 3-card email reading. (See the update on this post for details.) I will be contacting you soon with info about how to get your reading.
      Best,
      James

  2. Italian Lady permalink

    Hi James! Well, I’ll tell you about my first approach to Tarots… I was 5 or 6, not older than that, and I was at my parents’ for Xmas. I was getting a little bored, that’s why I began opening and checking drawers and cupboards. I bumped into a weird deck of cards, which definitely wasn’t for playing, it was too different from the cards I used to know. I shuffled and cut it (it was a complete deck, Majors, Minors and Court Cards) and I picked… The Death! I got terribly scared! Shuffled and cut again, and the same card did show up. I was terrified! I didn’t tell anyone, I could hardly speak. Then, when asked why I was so quiet, I felt forced to confess my secret. They all bursted to laugh and reassured me that I wasn’t going to die, that the Death was a very good card and amazing things would happen to you once you picked it up! I was glad at growns’up reaction, even if deep down I tought they were kidding me… Some years later, I read a novel by Italo Calvino, which was about a mysterious castle inhabited by people who couldn’t speak and a deck of Tarots was the only way they had to communicate… Shortly after I got my first Tarot deck…

    • That’s a wonderful story; thank you for sharing it. And it’s great that the adults around you had an evolved concept of the Death card.
      PS: I don’t know that book. I’d like to look it up. Do you recall the title?
      Best,
      James

  3. John Sorbo permalink

    Hi James! Thanks so much for the opportunity to win a free Tarot Reading from you! I started getting interested in Tarot over 12 years ago. I am a member of Tarosophy. I have attended 2 Tarosophy TaroCons over the last few years and Readers Studio 2014. I read mostly for family and friends, but have done a few Tarot parties and 3 Psychic Fairs. I would like to devote more time to my Tarot pursuits when I retire at age 62 in a little over 2 years. ( Can’t give up my day job yet, lol ). I’ve bought many different Tarot Decks and Tarot books over the years ( including your deck and a number of your books. All great, BTW! ). Would love to hear you present at a Tarot convention sometime in the future! Please keep me posted as to that possibility.

    I believe that the Tarot is an incredible tool which enables us to connect with Mother / Father God, Our Spirit Guides and Guardian Angels, and our Highest Self in order to receive Divine Guidance and Positive Support for our Spiritual Journey here on Earth.

    Take care and Best Wishes to you in all your future Tarot endeavors! John Sorbo

    • Hi John,
      The last Readers Studio I attended was in 2012. I miss it and hope to be able to go back again soon. I am planning to be a presenter at SF/BATS this year in case you can make it to that.
      And thank you for the compliments about my Tarot deck and books. (I hope you’ve gotten some great readings through the years with my Tarot of the Masters deck.)
      Best,
      James

  4. Mary permalink

    What’s a great opportunity! Thank you for generosity. Best of luck to us all. Right now, my favorite deck is the Ellis and use it as my “go to.” I have been studying tarot for about 5 years and have been teaching for a little over a year at the local metaphysical store; this has really broadened my own practice. This coming Sunday my students and I are offering free readings in honor of World Tarot Day which I stretched into a week to frame our day of class.

    • Thank you for your comments, Mary. I’m always interested in hearing about new decks. Thank you for mentioning the Ellis deck. I’ve not heard of it before.
      Best,
      James

  5. Lisa permalink

    Thank you so much for your giveaway!! I enjoy your meanings, any chance your app will be on the google play store or for windows phone? I have the Pamela Coleman Smith commemorative set which was my first deck and I love it, however since I’ve gotten a blue owl deck that I love just as well!! Thanks again for all of your informative posts and I hope the will come for a very long time!!

    • Hi Lisa,
      I’m happy to hear that you’re enjoying my Tarot posts here.
      As for my Pithy Tarot app … Sorry, there are no plans at present for an Android version of it. However, you can get my “Pithy Tarot” Kindle book on Amazon.
      Best,
      James

  6. I’m a Tarot neophyte and I’m just starting to appreciate how deep, layered and, at times, ironic the Tarot’s sense of humour can be. Your pithy meanings are very helpful and intuitive.

    Thank you.

    Paul

  7. Hi James,

    What a lovely, kind and generous offer.

    I’m a neophyte at the Tarot. I’m just realising the depth of the Tarot’s humour: ironic, subtle and, at times, bitter-sweet. It’s through your Pithy Tarot that I’m learning so much.

    Thank you.

    Paul

    • Thank you, Paul, for the compliment. I’m always happy to hear that my pithy Tarot meanings are helping people.
      Best,
      James

Leave a Reply

