Skip to content

What does the Tower card mean?

March 6, 2016

Marseille Tarot - Maison Dieu (Tower)Here is a pithy meaning for the Tower card:
If your anger roars out of control often, other people aren’t making you angry; you are a Rageaholic.

In a conversation with a friend about growing up with an abusive parent, my friend used a term I’d not heard before: Rageaholic.  (My term for it is “adrenaline addiction.”) Although I’d not heard that term before, it instantly resonated for me.  That’s what my childhood was like: I grew up living with a Rageaholic.

There are several cards that may represent that condition, one of which is the Tower card, with its implications of unexpected, explosive energy.  Another might be the Ten of Wands due to its associations from numerology (10 may indicate overload) and suit/elemental meanings (Wands/Fire can indicate energy). In any case, this meaning, when it comes up in a reading, can be a warning to the querent to address this problem in themselves or to understand that someone else around them (either now or in their past) suffers this sort of problem.

.

Note: Each of these pithy Tarot meanings is just one facet of its card. Find more of them on my Card Meanings page.  Also, get my Pithy Tarot eBook or the FREE app that uses my pithy Tarot meanings … and LIKE my Pithy Tarot Facebook page!

.

.

.

2 Comments
  1. i can relate — my father was a rageoholic too. Very difficult way to grow up. And then my ex husband turned into one. The Tower is a good representation of that.

    • Thank you for sharing about this.
      Your comment about your ex illustrates another aspect of the Tower — you can either leave a bad situation on your own accord or wait for the Universe to kick you out of it. And so the two aspects can be tied together: rageaholic + leaving a bad tower.

Leave a Reply

