Skip to content

The Temperance card suggests a way to live a happier life

March 23, 2017

Temperance -- Tarot of the MastersThere are many ways to use Tarot cards beyond the well-known process of doing a traditional reading. Here’s a way to create a happier life today using a bit of advice from the Temperance card:

Try to spend this day without complaints. Whenever you catch yourself complaining about something, call to mind the Serenity Prayer:

“God grant me the strength to change the things I can, the serenity to accept the things I can’t, and the wisdom to know the difference.” — Reinhold Niebuhr

If you can do this today, you will find that your life is a bit brighter for it. To further explain this suggestion, here is an excerpt from my book, The Soul’s Journey:

Recently I made a commitment to stop complaining about problems in my life.  This doesn’t mean not discussing problems when that’s useful.  If I need to get advice or bounce ideas off someone, then talking about a problem is helpful.  However, just complaining about troubles (and about troublesome people) is unproductive.  If there is something we can do about a problem, then we should do it.  If not, then what’s the use of complaining?  Why not adapt instead?

The interesting thing is that whenever I keep that commitment, an amazing thing happens.  I become a happier person, and I find more joy in my life.  I also notice how pervasive the habit of complaining is in our culture.  When I buy into that habit, it seems so normal that I don’t really notice it in other people.  But when I don’t, it seems strange and puzzling when someone grumbles about a situation or person in their life.

.

Many of these suggestions from the cards about how to live a happier, more fulfilled life were inspired by my pithy Tarot meanings and others by material in my book, The Soul’s Journey. So if you like them, you might also like my books, The Soul’s Journey and Pithy Tarot. Also, for more Tarot messages, LIKE my Tarot Facebook page.

For a list of all my “Tarot and Happiness” posts see my article titled Find Happiness with Tarot Cards.

.

.

.

.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

