Skip to content

Readings about the deceased

May 21, 2010

One of my blog readers recently asked this question:

I was recently asked to do a reading on a person who committed suicide and I was wondering what your thoughts are on the whole subject of readings for deceased persons. I realize that when people are grieving, they are searching for answers and I have mixed feelings about this area of reading. Any insight you have would be greatly appreciated. — Mar

I have to say that I can only answer this question from the perspective of my own spiritual beliefs.  As your beliefs differ, so may your perspective on this question differ.

I agree with Mar that when people grieve, they search for answers.  But I also feel that at a deeper level, what they are searching for is closure and a sense of peace about the death of a loved one.  And so the highest purpose for a reading request like this may be to help the querent find that sort of closure and peace. However, we also have to be sensitive to what people are ready to hear and how much they are prepared to grow at this time.  So what follows are suggestions for a few questions that you might want to explore in a reading on the subject of a deceased loved one.  You can use these questions or others that your intuition suggests to create a spread for such a reading. But let your intuition also guide you as you evaluate the situation at hand to see where to go with it.

1  What unfinished business is there between you and the deceased?
… How can you resolve this?

2  Is there something you wish you’d had the chance to say to this person?
… (Note that if there is, this person can still say it now, or whenever s/he is ready.)

3  What do you need to forgive yourself for with regards to your relationship with the deceased?

4  What do you need to know in order to find closure in this relationship?
… What can you do to find that closure?

5  What do you need to know in order to find healing?
… What can you do to heal yourself?

In the specific situation that Mar encountered — where someone took their own life — she may be wondering if it is okay to ask about the thoughts or feelings of someone who is not there for the reading.  That’s a tough question because privacy issues are different if the other person is dead.

On the one hand, shouldn’t we have enough respect for that person’s privacy that we avoid prying into this most confidential of questions, “Why did he kill himself?”  But on the other hand, this may be exactly what the person requesting the reading needs to know in order to find peace.  When dilemmas like this arise, I generally trust the Universe to provide the appropriate answer.  So perhaps we can ask what this person needs to know about the suicide, and then trust that the Universe will send a message that is both healing and suitably discrete.

Finally, I want to share something on the subject of using the Tarot to help heal people who have suffered the loss of a loved one. I have developed a Tarot exercise to help people cope with the death of a loved one, and the following is something that I wrote as part of my introduction to this technique:

Sometimes the hardest part of dealing with the death of a loved one is finding closure for unfinished business in our relationship with them and then getting to a place where we are able to say goodbye. We fear severing that final thread that connects that person to us. But releasing doesn’t mean forgetting; it only means giving up an attachment to someone and to our grief and pain.  Letting go allows us to create a safe place where we can visit our memories of that person whenever and however we choose, rather than being imprisoned by those memories and being at their mercy.  And it enables us to begin to heal the wound created by our loss.

I truly believe that saying goodbye is an essential first step to healing, but I also realize that everyone takes their own time before being able to do that.  We can help them get there, but we certainly can’t push them. 

The image on this post is a card from my RWS 2.0 Tarot deck

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

From → Readings

13 Comments
  1. Nan Harvey permalink

    How timely! I recently discovered your Tarot blog and have been reading it with interest. Today’s post was just what I needed at the time I needed it. A former lover recently passed away and has been “in contact” with me since a dream about a week ago. There were things we still needed to say to each other, and I think we’ve done that. But he is still “hangin’ round” and neither of us seems to anxious to let go. The introduction to your coping with death technique will be what I need to focus on to let go so that both of us can go on. Thanks so much!

    • Thank you Nan.
      Isn’t it wonderful how sometimes the Universe leads us to exactly what we need.
      I hope all goes well for you.
      Best,
      James

  2. Kate permalink

    That is a beautiful response, James.

    I was not involved with tarot when we experienced the death by suicide of a beloved younger sister. Such grief can be yawning, painful void which little can fill. What helped me most was the calm and constant but unobtrusive care of friends.

    This may sound strange but those possessions I had of hers were tinged with most unusual scent which lasted for years,even after I discovered the tarot. It attached itself to a set of the Goddess Tarot cards and I used to love looking at those images. That deck is a very positive deck and in retrospect I feel that I was being led into a more loving way of understanding what had occurred. I have moved on quite a lot since then but further stories may not be relevant here.

    As a tarot user now, if I was asked to do a reading for someone in a similar situation I would do much as you have suggested. A lot would depend on the person herself and where she is in her grief. Also, much would depend on her understanding of tarot and what it can offer. I would use a very simple three card spread which would vary according to my intuitive feeling about the seeker and conversation with her.

    I now believe that it is possible to communicate with those who have passed over and often use tarot cards for personal readings in this way. I find the Osho Zen deck particularly valuable for these purposes but also the Hudes.

    • Thanks Kate
      I can’t imagine how difficult it must be to have to deal with a sibling’s suicide, but when I was 16 one of my brothers was in a fatal traffic accident. That tragic event led me to explore the issue of death and dying.
      Bright Blessings,
      James

  3. kerry permalink

    Thanks for this. Reading on a question of “is my dad ok?” after he was a suicide, my cards told me very clearly to leave it alone, one of the few times my cards have actually kind of frightened me.

    I was young, and desperate to know that what we had been told by the Christian church (that suicides go to hell) was wrong. I was (and am) disillusioned about the church and I don’t believe, but there was that little voice that says “what if they’re right?” that needed to shut up.

    Since then, my dad has come to me in dreams, and it does appear that all is well and I appreciate the communication.

    • Thank you for sharing this here, Kerry.
      Perhaps the cards were telling you to leave it alone at that time; that it was too soon for you to be dealing with this. Curious if you’ve tried again now that many years have passed.
      Best,
      James

  4. This was a good article James, thanks for sharing your perspective.

  5. Maribeth (mep) permalink

    Very succinct and apt advice, James – thank you.

    mep

  6. Helen and Maribeth — Thanks for the kind words about this article
    James

  7. thanks James for broaching on such an important subject, in a sensitive way. you have opened up a whole new use of tarot for me.

  8. mar permalink

    I have spent some time thinking about everything you said here James. In my situation I think I will “let it be” for now. My step- mother asked me to do a reading about my brother who took his life 17 years ago. I do not feel (even after all of this time) ready to try something like this. As you can imagine, there are reasons why I feel my brother would not really like her prying into his business…I did some serious soul searching and thought about all of your advice. Thank you for responding to my question about this and thank you for helping me decide. I know this is a sensitive subject and I think you handled it just right 🙂
    Thank you,
    Mar

Leave a comment