Skip to content

The World — Spiritual Message of the Day

November 12, 2013

Recently I was on a podcast with Christiana Gaudet, and the common quote, “in the world, not of the world,” came up during our discussion of my book, The Soul’s Journey, and its commentaries on the World card.  I gave an explanation of it, but then after the show I thought of another way to explain this oft-misunderstood quote, so I thought I would post it here.

To better understand this quote, first let’s consider life using the analogy of a dream.  Most of us are unaware that we are in a dream so we suffer the experiences therein (that’s being “in the dream and of the dream”), but there is something called “lucid dreaming” where the dreamer comes to realize that they are dreaming.  (See my blog post for the Nine of Swords from a couple of years ago which discusses lucid dream therapy.)  Then, with that realization, they become “in the dream but not of the dream.”  That, I believe, is another way to consider the “in the world, not of the world” quote: to awaken to the reality that we are spiritual beings having a material life experience, to awaken to the reality that although life in this world is real on this material level, it is not the ultimate reality.  This realization will profoundly change how we live our lives.

If you enjoy these words of spiritual advice from the cards, you will love my book, The Soul’s Journey: Finding Spiritual Messages in the Tarot
The Tarot card image on this post is from my RWS 2.0 deck

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment